Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
My family went to the UP this summer for the first time. It was fabulous and so were the pasties we enjoyed there. This recipe tasted exactly like the pasties we ate while sitting on the shore of Lake Superior. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very good recipe! I've already made them twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I grew up with pasties in Kimberly, WI. It is a five stare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
A wonderful hearty meal. Our favorite! And the entire house smells wonderful while they bake. Can't have them often enough ! Your recipe is perfect..I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These were fantastic! I was born and raised in the UP and have not had a pastie in 15 years. These tasted just as I remember my grandmother's tasting. Thanks Cheryl! I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Great little stew in a pocket. Didn't have rutabaga and subbed fr. mixed veggies for the carrot/potato. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This recipe is almost identical to the one that my great-grandmother from Calumet, MI used to make. I always make a triple recipe so that I can freeze a bunch. You just reheat them in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes... or my husband, also a U.P. native, says that microwaving them for three minutes works as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I'm not rating this recipe because I have the kiss of death with pie crust. We enjoyed pasties so much while visiting Michigan that I decided to give it a go. Had trouble rolling the dough thin enough and getting the filling to stay inside without the pastie splitting open. Any future reviewers have suggestions? (besides adding more flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
For an easy and lower calorie version I use lean ground beef, diced onion, sliced carrots and diced potatoes add salt and pepper a pat of butter - place the raw ingredients in a pan and cover with pastry then bake - and serve hot with extra butter and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Hate to rain on the parade, but I thought this was very bland. I also ended up with a lot of leftover filling because I could only fit 1/2 to 3/4 cup of filling in each pastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States