Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was born in the U.P of Michigan so a true "Yooper". I grew up eating pasty and this is just how I remember it. Only thing I do differently is use combo of ground beef and pork. You can buy meatloaf mix in meat dept. that works perfectly. Usually I just make large pan of this instead of individual (less work!) and of course you MUST eat with ketchup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
thank you! No one for the longest time ever heard of them here in Maine, and roadside pasties are an unforgettable treat for anyone who ventures into the UP. This recipe has already been saved in my favorites (and I haven't tried it yet) just reading the recipe brought me right back. This is what I am doing our first chilly day here. (it's coming... )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
very good! I love these, as does my husband. Make them according to the recipe and you can't go wrong. They turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I've made this several times now and everyone loves it! I'm from the UP also and it's the real thing. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daggett, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Extremely similar to my family's pasty recipe. They are from the "UP" and have passed their recipe down for at least 4 generations, that I know of. Pasties are real comfort food and quite delicious, even if they can be a bit "heavy" of a meal. Will make again , but I like to try different fillings too. (such as chicken and brocolli, turkey & artichoke, etc.) Pasties vary from family to family... but are delicious with or without carrots, with ground meat or cubed, with pre made crust or hand made, with or without rutabaga, etc. Just choose the fillings you like and don't forget to "dot" with butter before you seal them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I made these for my grandmother who lives in Michigan and even she was inpressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
DO NOT USE PRE-MADE PIE DOUGH. If you want the real thing you must make your own. Also, all ingredients are a must: carrot, rutabaga and the rest. When I was a kid spending my summers in Bootjack and Houghton/Hancock I ate these doused in ketchup, which is still great, but to spice it up a bit try mixing in some chili sauce and/or horseradish and lemon juice. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Great recipe. Just as I remember on trips to the U.P. I didn't use the carrots and I pressure cooked the meat (chuck tends to be chewy) with some onion and garlic salt and pepper. after it was done I boiled away all the water until there was a brown glaze to the pan added 3 cups of water and added a half pound of ground chuck, 1/2 tsp. salt and made a great gravy to go with them. Beautiful. Its in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Davison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Man, these are good. I did make changes, based on what I had in my cupboard. I used half pork sausage and half ground beef. Unfortnately I had no rutabagas handy, but the recipe was good without them. Per other users, I thinly sliced the carrots and potatos for quicker cooking. I also brushed the tops with milk. I cooked the pasties on my pizza stone (because I left it in the oven by mistake) and they turned out great, very flakey and perfectly cooked. On the stone at 400 degrees, the pasties took 30 minutes. I will make these again. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
We loved the pasties. I added onion soup mix, 3 T water, and soy sauce to season and add moisture to the filling, and I replaced the potatoes with sweet potatoes. I also used frozen pie crusts (thanks to those who suggested it!). The result was not the traditional pasties that others enjoy, but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States