Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Do not make with venison. Maybe it was just my taste buds. Other than the meat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Wow! These are perfect and exactly what I was looking for. My husband's grandmother (from the U.P.) made these twice a year for the family. My husband said these were "spot on"! I thought the crust was VERY easy to work with, and tasted perfect. I cut my meat smaller than stated though, I made sure to dice all of the ingredients to be about the same size. I omitted the carrots as well. I also had to roll out the dough a little larger than 6" (closer to an 8" circle) in order to fit the 1 cup of filling. Make sure you season these generously and they will be perfect. These were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
PERFECT!!!! I grew up on these and it was such a treat to have the taste recreated EXACTLY as I remembered it. I omit the rutabaga, as I am generally a fan but do not care for it in pasties. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was awesome, very close to being strait from da UP (yup I am a pseudo Yooper - NMU student for 4 years) In place of the steak, I used 1 pound of ground pork and a 1/2 pound of ground chuck as found in other pasty recipes (and well, my fridge.) It turned out very very tasty! I also brushed the tops with milk and they turned out beautiful. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as it appears and I didn't care for it. I am very good with dough so that turned out fine but the inside was bad. I would try this again using the other suggestions from other reviews. I think ground hamburger with some added seasoning might be the trick for me! I will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made my version of UP pasties with the leftover pepper steak I had made with sirloin steak, peppers, onions, celery, mushrooms, and potatoes. I added carrots when I decided to make the pasties. That is probably why it grew. I used Pampered Chef's new 4" biscuit cutter to form the circles but instead of folding them over I used a bottom and top crust filling the middle with stew mixture using Pampered Chef's medium scoop. Sounds like a great receipe for my next Pampered Chef party as my husband was not too keen on my latest creation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hooray! I am so happy to have found this, Turned out amazing and took me back to childhood. My Grandma was from Hancock in the UP and we always went every year to visit her childhood home and the best part was of course eating PASTIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have never been to the UP and never tried a pasty, but I have seen Escanaba In Da Moonlight many times and decided to make these for deer camp. This recipe was good, but a little bland. Next time I will add some more salt to the crust and more spices to the mixture also, but they were still very good and were all eaten by the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good and very hearty, but also very bland....even when I tried to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Iron Mt. Michigan--We have the best recipe! NO to carrots NO pie crust NO gravy NO hamburger Yes, rutabaga Yes, butter in slit on top Yes, parsley Yes, ketchup when serving Yes, milk on top for browning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States