Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! The only change I make is to double the pastry ingredients because I put in some green beans and carrots for extra nutriton! Tastes just like the great pasties you can find here in Northern Michigan! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
very good classic pasty.... i even made mine using lard crust.... you can really put what ever you want inside ground meat or cubed meat and different veggies.... two things to be sure you do though is make sure they seal up good and be sure to add the slab of butter... if you don't they will dry out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I used to eat these all the time while visiting my family in Michigan and was missing them. I was amazed at how well my first shot at making them turned out, the crust was perfect! I made a vegetarian variation by replacing the meat with an extra potato, celery and a parsnip, and added some curry powder. This version goes perfectly with mint chutney, definitely a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Easy dough to use...great flavors. I substituted turnips for the rutabaga. Turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
For those have trouble with the pastry, stick the shortening in the fridge for about half an hour before making the crust. This makes the dough just a tad firmer while you work with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Pretty close to my grandmothers recipe. We also peeled the vegtables too, then cut them into small cubes. I do not use carrots. I have tweeked it over the years. I roast 2 cloves a garlic, then chop them in with the onion. Put all your vegtables on the bottom of the pasty first. then the meat, and then a thin slice of butter or margarine. when it cooks the juices cook the vegtables. We have always served them with a white sauce over them. Basic butter, flour,milk,salt,pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Willowbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe! I make it every few weeks. I had no problem with the crust, but I tried it in my food processor and it was the most beautiful dough that I have ever worked with. It is so easy to change up with different veggies and spices. We use gravy with ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I added turnips, mushrooms, Beef stock paste (more beef flavor), baking powder for the filling (makes the dough flakier). An official Cornish pasty does not contain carrots but I added them in mine, and are included in many recipes of the times. Traditionally associated with coal and copper miners of Michigan and Minnesota. coal miners would carry them into the mines well wrapped for there lunch. They would have there initials on the pasties (like I have mine on this pasty) so they could tell who they belonged to. It is required that they are shaped like a "D", and they are crimped on the sides. need to add baking powder, turnips, mushrooms, extra beef flavor, and brush the dough with egg yoke to give it a nice brown look. see my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!! Just like the ones my husband and I have each time wn visit Michigan. Flakey crust, fabulous way to use up left over roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Do not make with venison. Maybe it was just my taste buds. Other than the meat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States