Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My family is from the U.P., but originally from Cornwall. This was the pasty I grew up on, but without the addition of carrot. For those that think they're dry....well, they aren't supposed to be like a pot pie. I eat it with ketchup, as does the rest of my huge family. We have gotten a little lazy though, and a lot of times make a big pastie pie. Sometimes I'll make my own crust and sometimes I'll just buy an already made crust. Just layer it in the pie shell as the recipe states, dot with a little butter if you wish, cover with the other crust and make a couple slits and bake at 350 for an hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Like other users, I used ground beef (which is what I've typically encountered in the UP) or ground venison with 10% beef fat. The key with pasties is definitely the rutabaga. I have added mushrooms (canned or fresh) with success. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I brushed the tops with milk and a little butter to get them to brown. If you've never had pasties - they are supposed to be a little dry inside (even a good pasty is a wee bit "dry"). This was the biggest surprise for me when I first tried pasties (I'm not a native Michigander). A lot of people like to serve them with brown or cream gravy on the side to dip bites in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Yum! I didn't have rutabega-but it was delish with steak, potato and carrots (garlic and parsley). I was worried about everything cooking by putting it in raw-it turned out amazing! I had left over filling too. Served with brown gravy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My family is from Cornwall. This recipe goes back several generations for me. Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times, the only regular changes the addition of carrot for a bit of color, butter for margarine, and an egg wash to make the crust pretty. Just like with steaks, if I've got a really good cut of meat, the simple seasoning here is fine. It's just when I've got an ordinary bit of meat that I need to up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. Tastes like home! Easy too. Made a bunch to freeze for a quick meal on a busy night. Leftover filling. Will use more filling per pastie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Ya, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I haven't had pasties since I was a kid. Found a rutabaga and thought I would give it a try. The crust is nice and flakey. Just delicious!!! I didn't change anything. Made the recipe just as it was- (I did double it so I can freeze some and have them for work.) Coming from Michigan, this is something I just haven't found anywhere else in the country. I feel like I just ate a memory! Ummm...Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I just took them out of the oven and the juices all leaked out making the bottoms soggy. When I went to flip them over to try and cook the bottoms I found that they were stuck to the wax paper and all fell apart. Next time I will spray pam on the paper which the directions didn't say to do. I would love some advise on what else I maybe did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I really wanted to love this recipe. I made them almost like written with the exception of adding garlic and also a spoonful of beef gravy to each pastie before sealing. I am unsure given the ingredients; why they were so bland? Maybe the addition of mushrooms or other herbs would help? I think it's a good basic recipe that can be built upon. I will probably play around with this one to make it a bit more tasty. The crust was very nice and flaky and I thought easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States