Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Good as is, but will likely make adjustments next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made these with butter instead of shortening (didn't have any shortening) and brushed them with egg before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I put venison steak instead of beef and bring them up for deer hunt. From Wisconsin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
From Mohawk, MI ... Pasties have long been my favorite beach food on Superior. Good recipe ... we, too, always used ground beef/hamburger for the meat. I've used different kinds of meat (and even pre-made pie crusts sometimes). (Don't tell anyone.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was so good! I did not use the rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emioneall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed the original recipe except used hamburger instead of chuck. That's how I remember it in Northern Wisconsin. I always have more filling than dough so make a larger batch of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I live in an old mining town where the original townspeople were all Cornish. Pasties are pretty huge here and I have to say that this recipe made the most authentic pasties I've tasted. They equal the best restaurant in town which has been making the same recipe since the 1800's. I made them with leftover cooked ham, cheddar cheese, broccoli and shallots and the kids asked for thirds! They were that good. Don't hesitate to make this recipe. It makes 6 huge servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Got rutabaga in CSA box and was stumped. Followed recipe as noted minus carrot and they came out great. Can't wait until next batch and start experimenting with fillings. Great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are wonderful! My late husband used to make pasties and we have missed them since he died. Wasn't sure if I could make them as good, but I followed the recipe exactly and we loved them. The crust was a breeze to work with (and I always struggle with pie crust), did not fall apart our stick at all. We will be having pasties alot this winter! I plan to make a bunch and freeze them for days when we just don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States