Pasties I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I'm from Upper Michigan where we're famous for our pasties. We use ground beef, potatoes, carrots, onion and rutabega in ours. Serve with ketchup or brown gravy. To reheat if frozen, bake at 350 on a cookie sheet for one hour. To reheat if thawed, bake at 350 for a 20-30 minutes, or microwave on High for 8-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
This was a very tasty recipe. I didn't have rutabagas (probably never would, either!), so I substituted carrots. Also, it would have been dry without some gravy, so I made some brown gravy to go over the pasties, and served them with a nice green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is the closest to real pasties that I've found. I used 85% ground beef instead of the pork and turnips for the rutabagas, just because turnips are good with beef. This recipe is a great basic recipe and easily adapted to each persons tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I like the flavor of this pastie. I will definitely make this recipe again in the future. Although next time I will cut the amount of potato in half because they were very full (almost exploding) and I didn't use all the potato called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I too substituted leftover roast beef and carrots for the pork and rutabagas. It came out a little dry - I will definitely add more butter on top of the meat and vegetables next time. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I will try this again, I filled the crust too full and had a hard time sealing them. I also used carrots instead of rutabaga and served with gravy. Very filling, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
These are just like my grandpa and mother make. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This recipe is excellent, but in the future I will omit the potatoes or reduce the quantity. 5 are too many to stuff into this much dough. Instead of the recipe for the crust, I used the Oil Pie Crust recipe submitted by Donna, which is easy and good. It is cholesterol-free! Hint: Do not line the pan with parchment or waxed paper unless you want to eat some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I have lived in the Upper Pennisula of Michigan. My grandma was a full swede and we NEVER put carrots into a pasty it changes the flavor. Pork and beef, onion, potato, and rutabagas only. This is a good basic recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Awesome stuff. I used some venison for the meat and cut down on the potatoes--I still had more filling than dough, but these were so good I might just make another batch of pie crust so we can have them again! I made four and DBF ate three, so they were definitely a hit with him, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States