Pasties I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This one is as close to the ones my Grandma and Mom made who taught me well. Only change I make is used a cubed medium cut of Beef or Pork, Onions, and Potato. Oh and since I can't make a pie crust to save myself I use premade Pie Crust such as Pillsbury Pie Crust. AND NEVER USE GRAVY on PASTIES!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Noonan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake George, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I did add some gravy to the inside of my pastie and it was awesome. Doing so means it's no longer the traditional pastie, but the flavor was amazing. I used half of a store bought pie crust for each. I made a double batch freezing the half we didn't bake. We're looking forward to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Awesome stuff. I used some venison for the meat and cut down on the potatoes--I still had more filling than dough, but these were so good I might just make another batch of pie crust so we can have them again! I made four and DBF ate three, so they were definitely a hit with him, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I have lived in the Upper Pennisula of Michigan. My grandma was a full swede and we NEVER put carrots into a pasty it changes the flavor. Pork and beef, onion, potato, and rutabagas only. This is a good basic recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This recipe is excellent, but in the future I will omit the potatoes or reduce the quantity. 5 are too many to stuff into this much dough. Instead of the recipe for the crust, I used the Oil Pie Crust recipe submitted by Donna, which is easy and good. It is cholesterol-free! Hint: Do not line the pan with parchment or waxed paper unless you want to eat some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
These are just like my grandpa and mother make. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I will try this again, I filled the crust too full and had a hard time sealing them. I also used carrots instead of rutabaga and served with gravy. Very filling, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I too substituted leftover roast beef and carrots for the pork and rutabagas. It came out a little dry - I will definitely add more butter on top of the meat and vegetables next time. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I like the flavor of this pastie. I will definitely make this recipe again in the future. Although next time I will cut the amount of potato in half because they were very full (almost exploding) and I didn't use all the potato called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is the closest to real pasties that I've found. I used 85% ground beef instead of the pork and turnips for the rutabagas, just because turnips are good with beef. This recipe is a great basic recipe and easily adapted to each persons tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States