Pastetnik Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Made as instructed, I don't think these were spectacular. I think the flavour could be improved easily by adding some dried basil, oregano, garlic powder and thyme. I wasn't too crazy about the mayo, yogurt combo, but think that perhaps using a ranch & yogurt combo could enhance it. As is the recipe has more than enough salt, and w/ the right combo of herbs could be omitted/reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
The reviews were good, and I decided on a whim to make this. Halfway through, I panicked: did all family members review this? How could something this simple be that good? Well, when it was done, I didn't have to wonder anymore. This IS delicious! It's warm and cool, creamy and crispy, all at the same time. While I added a dash of garlic powder and a couple of shakes of dried chives to the sauce, using less yogurt and mayo than it called for, this recipe would be good (if overly saucy) as is. My only suggestion: eat it right away or let the sauce come to room temperature before mixing in with the potatoes. Otherwise, the potatoes cool to lukewarm and lose their delicious oven crispiness. It's simple and tasty - try it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good base for a recipe. It seems an odd combination but when paired with a spicier dish especially BBQ, it tends to cool it down. I do recommend adding other spices to it, but otherwise a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made these tonight for a family dinner and everybody loved them! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and the only thing I did different was I added a little dehidrated onions with the olive oil and a few dashes of paprika to the sauce. I served it with meatloaf and it complimented it very nicely. Next time I make it I will not make as much of the sauce, had quite a bit of it left over so think I only need to make 2/3rds of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I was a little skeptical about the yogurt with potatoes since I dislike all yogurt, but these are the best potatoes I have ever had!! Highly recommended to make just the way the recipe says. I am a horrible cook and these are soooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was easy to prepare, I didn,t peel the potatoes and it still was great. My hubby never coments but in this case said it was great. I kind of tasted like salt and vinegar chips to me. will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was easy to prepare ahead of time by chopping up the potatoes and placing in water in the fridge untill ready to mix in the olive oil. It was great except my guests and I felt it was missing some zing, suggestions were to add garlic finely chopped , seaseme seeds toasted or poppy seeds also I added onions chopped to this as well. This dish goes very well with bbq'd meats!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
absolutely one of the best potatoe dishes i have ever tried. it takes the place of a cold potatoe salad with less work. don't assemble too far ahead as it tends to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States