Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by helloeevee
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
The mixture didn't soak into the cake even though I left it in the fridge overnight. Tasted quite nice but a bit too sweet and milky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Excellent cake! I had never made a Tres Leches cake before, and we were hosting a Mexican themed party for some friends. We added this to our menu, and I made it the night before the party. It was SO moist and delicious. If you're wondering if you can make this a day ahead of time, the answer is "yes". I served it with fresh sliced strawberries on the side - but it really doesn't need anything else. It's perfect just as is. Can't wait to make this again - soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Amazing! This is so good. You would think that it might be a heavy desert. It seems light. The perfect desert for a beautiful summer day. I am not a fan of milk, but let me tell you this is over the top. Thank-You so much for the great recipe. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newell, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely perfect taste and texture. I had a little trouble with the sponge cake falling flat at first but it was an error on my part. I tried again and finally got the technique down for beating the egg whites. I made this for my husband as he loved the tres leches cake that he got from a famous Chicago bakery. He said it was better than the one he had from there! Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Luscious, beautiful, phenomenal cake! If you want a real tres leches cake, this is the recipe. Delicious! For the cook who said they baked this in a 9X13 pan: this was a big mistake; of course it would run out of the pan and into the oven! Any baker knows you never use a smaller pan unless you half the recipe.Use the 10X15 pan,(which is quite a common size for people who do any regular baking---most sheet cakes are in this size pan) and your cake will turn out perfect! Follow the recipe next time, and you will have a remarkable and wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roger9467

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I do make just the 3 milk mixture all by itself. I use it on store bought sponge cake or store bought pound cake. It is so darn good. I can eat the whole cake. Come to think of it i have eaten the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
its like the forth time I made this and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe is better than any 3 leches cake I ever tasted it was perfect I wouldn't change a thing. I usually have to drive to western in Chicago to get 3 milk cake, but this recipe was so good and simple I can make it anytime. No need to go back to Western ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie89
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
May be the best cake I've ever had in my life. And I've eaten and baked a lot of cakes! Made exactly as directed in a 9x13 pan. Let it sit overnight before serving. Super moist. Serve with whipped cream and berries, although the whipped cream felt like overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Kind of wondering how this worked out fine for the other reviewers...I used a 9 x 13 pan, because who on earth owns a 10 x 15 pan?????? I didn't even know they made such a size. Anyhow, It made a HUGE mess of my oven, overflowing everywhere. It took another 10 min longer to bake in the middle and by that time, the top was dark brown and crusty. Not my idea of a good go-to recipe! Disappointing. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States