Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have never made or had a Tres Leches cake before. And really tried hard to think back in my mind if I had...hmm nope, but officially I now can say yes...yes I have. And I liked! I really wanted to try the cake prior to adding the milk mixture but I really needed that experience of knowing what it was suppose to taste like. I made extactly to a T minus the part of using a 10x15. I used a 8x10 and it was very fluffy high, I did a toothpick check at 4 minutes prior to removing and then when I pulled the cake out at the beep of the timer, it wasn't high like it was. Wasn't sure if I had done anything wrong. I then mixed up the milk, tasted the milk and was like...hmm I don't like the taste of evap in this and already started being disappointed over the flavor before it was totally finished BUT having said that, I followed through with letting it set in the frig and couldn't wait to pull out and try. And glad I did. It was really nice, no over whelming flavor of evap. And the cake was moist without being super runny with liquid and didn't crumble with it being somewhat wet. I was very reserved with my thought until my family tried it and they thought it was fabulous and my son has requested that I make this for his birthday. The addition of whipped topping, toasted coconut and a strawberry sliced over the portion of cake, was an excellent addition..It's a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I've been itching to make this for some time and I am SO GLAD I made this! I know there were other recipes of this "three milk cake", and glad to pick this as well. I did few things differently: I whipped the egg whites and the other ingredients separately and at the end added the yolk+flour mixture into stiff egg white mixture (half the sugar amount was dissolved in the egg whites and the other half was in the yolk mixture). I also cut the sugar by half since I know sweetened condensed milk would be very sweet. (My family likes not-too-sweet desserts.) Also, instead of using heavy cream for the three milk mixture, I used light cream (5%) and to us it still tastes awesome with less calories. Lastly, I left the cake sit with milk mixture overnight so that it gives more time for the cake to absorb the milk mixture. Served with blueberries instead of strawberries and PERFECT! Next time I will try with coconut milk like others have suggested. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
It was so good that I wanted to take a photo but it was gone before I knew it! It was so delicious and sweet. I wouldn't change anything in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is the first time I've made this cake. It was super easy and turned out so yummy!! I substituted the evaporated milk for lite coconut milk in the same quantity (12 oz can). I poked holes in the cake as soon as I took it out of the oven and pour the combined three milks directly on the cake and stuck it in the refridgerator for about 3 hours. I made my own whipped cream for the topping and then toasted non sweetened coconut. Perfecto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have never made a three milk cake. I made it this weekend it came out GREAT! my family and friends loved it, can wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Oh man, this was soooooo good ! Everyone loved it at our home group. Can't wait to serve it to a new group of people to see if they have the same response. Topped each piece with whipped cream, toasted coconut and diced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
One word, PERFECTION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Authentic recipe!!!! Everyone loved this at the 4th of July party:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it for a party and everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States