Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have never made or had a Tres Leches cake before. And really tried hard to think back in my mind if I had...hmm nope, but officially I now can say yes...yes I have. And I liked! I really wanted to try the cake prior to adding the milk mixture but I really needed that experience of knowing what it was suppose to taste like. I made extactly to a T minus the part of using a 10x15. I used a 8x10 and it was very fluffy high, I did a toothpick check at 4 minutes prior to removing and then when I pulled the cake out at the beep of the timer, it wasn't high like it was. Wasn't sure if I had done anything wrong. I then mixed up the milk, tasted the milk and was like...hmm I don't like the taste of evap in this and already started being disappointed over the flavor before it was totally finished BUT having said that, I followed through with letting it set in the frig and couldn't wait to pull out and try. And glad I did. It was really nice, no over whelming flavor of evap. And the cake was moist without being super runny with liquid and didn't crumble with it being somewhat wet. I was very reserved with my thought until my family tried it and they thought it was fabulous and my son has requested that I make this for his birthday. The addition of whipped topping, toasted coconut and a strawberry sliced over the portion of cake, was an excellent addition..It's a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Oh man, this was soooooo good ! Everyone loved it at our home group. Can't wait to serve it to a new group of people to see if they have the same response. Topped each piece with whipped cream, toasted coconut and diced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
One word, PERFECTION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Luscious, beautiful, phenomenal cake! If you want a real tres leches cake, this is the recipe. Delicious! For the cook who said they baked this in a 9X13 pan: this was a big mistake; of course it would run out of the pan and into the oven! Any baker knows you never use a smaller pan unless you half the recipe.Use the 10X15 pan,(which is quite a common size for people who do any regular baking---most sheet cakes are in this size pan) and your cake will turn out perfect! Follow the recipe next time, and you will have a remarkable and wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roger9467

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I've been itching to make this for some time and I am SO GLAD I made this! I know there were other recipes of this "three milk cake", and glad to pick this as well. I did few things differently: I whipped the egg whites and the other ingredients separately and at the end added the yolk+flour mixture into stiff egg white mixture (half the sugar amount was dissolved in the egg whites and the other half was in the yolk mixture). I also cut the sugar by half since I know sweetened condensed milk would be very sweet. (My family likes not-too-sweet desserts.) Also, instead of using heavy cream for the three milk mixture, I used light cream (5%) and to us it still tastes awesome with less calories. Lastly, I left the cake sit with milk mixture overnight so that it gives more time for the cake to absorb the milk mixture. Served with blueberries instead of strawberries and PERFECT! Next time I will try with coconut milk like others have suggested. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I do make just the 3 milk mixture all by itself. I use it on store bought sponge cake or store bought pound cake. It is so darn good. I can eat the whole cake. Come to think of it i have eaten the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
It was so good that I wanted to take a photo but it was gone before I knew it! It was so delicious and sweet. I wouldn't change anything in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
When I tried this recipe for the first time following it step by step, I found the cake was a little dried but with a good flavor. The second time I prepared it, I did a little variation to the preparation; i changed the milk mixture as follows: 1 condensed milk, 1 can evaporated milk and 1.5 cups whole milk and 1/2 cup of whipping cream. Once the caked was cooled down, iI poured the milk mixture. It absorbed all the milk and it was spongy-licious. After refrigerated for a couple hours, the flavored was great. Even better the next day. Thanks for sharing this recipe, my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was my first time making a tres leches cake and it turned out great! Everyone loved it and I've gotten a couple of requests to make it for birthday parties already. I topped it off with s homemade whipped topping and fruit. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States