Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was my first Tres Leches cake and I'm very impressed. It's a little extra work making the sponge cake from scratch, but the final result was so worth it. The only thing I did differently was to make the top layer from 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. I added powdered sugar to taste and a tsp of vanilla. I made a stabilized whipped cream topping by adding 1 1/2 tsp of unflavored gelatin to 1 1/2 Tbsp of hot water. I topped each piece with a raspberry coulis. It looked and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
fantastic recipe, made in a 9x13 and it came out perfect, my kids really enjoyed this cake as well, a nice change to the typical cake. I will def make again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I didn't didn't really like the way the cake turned out. The milk mixture didn't completely soak in the cake. I let it sit in the fridge for over several hours. I was a little disappointed in the cake after reading the previous reviews and making the cake myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Super easy to make! Made it for my son's 9th birthday party. The kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Of all the recipes on this site, use this one. It's perfectly moist - just follow the recipe exactly and you'll be fine. I let it completely cool in the fridge overnight, then put a layer of Cool Whip topping on and refrigerated it for a few hours again before serving. Next time I might try a 9x13 dish to see if it makes it even more moist. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My daughter needed to take a "Mexican Inspired" food to school to share with the class and we went straight for dessert. I made this cake this afternoon and hopefully she will have enough left for school tomorrow. We have each had 2 pieces already. It is sweet and so moist, we did not think it needed anything on it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helloeevee
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
The mixture didn't soak into the cake even though I left it in the fridge overnight. Tasted quite nice but a bit too sweet and milky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Excellent cake! I had never made a Tres Leches cake before, and we were hosting a Mexican themed party for some friends. We added this to our menu, and I made it the night before the party. It was SO moist and delicious. If you're wondering if you can make this a day ahead of time, the answer is "yes". I served it with fresh sliced strawberries on the side - but it really doesn't need anything else. It's perfect just as is. Can't wait to make this again - soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Amazing! This is so good. You would think that it might be a heavy desert. It seems light. The perfect desert for a beautiful summer day. I am not a fan of milk, but let me tell you this is over the top. Thank-You so much for the great recipe. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newell, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely perfect taste and texture. I had a little trouble with the sponge cake falling flat at first but it was an error on my part. I tried again and finally got the technique down for beating the egg whites. I made this for my husband as he loved the tres leches cake that he got from a famous Chicago bakery. He said it was better than the one he had from there! Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States