Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is THE Tres Leches Cake recipe to use! Easy to make and so delicious! Better than any I've had at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I had never heard of or tried Tres Leches before I made it, so I wasn't sure if I would get it right. My boyfriend and best friend are Mexican, and they requested this for their birthdays. I thought the recipie was wrong, as it didn't call for cinnamon in a traditional Mexican dessert. Evidentally, it doesn't traditionally have cinnamon lol. I added it anyway, and this was the touch that put it over the edge! My boyfriends mother who is a from Mexico said it was the best she's ever had. Since first making this dish, I have sought out Tres Leches at fine bakeries. Even the famous Tartine bakery in San Fransiscos Mission District is no match for this recipie. I sprinkle cinnamon on after I pour the milk, then add strawberries to the top before serving. All the milk products personally upset my tummy if I eat to much, but at least I only make it 2-4 times a year for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Stinker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Oh, I forgot to rate this, it's delish! Made as stated, no changes. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Everyone at my job loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is so good! I didn't change a thing. I think I alone ate at least 3/4 of this cake. The one thing I recommend is not to change the size of the pan, as you will find the cake will be higher and the milk mixture will not soak all the way to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This recipe was awesome and a true Tres Leches Recipe. Traditional Tres Leches Cake recipe needs a 10 x 15 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was my first Tres Leches cake and I'm very impressed. It's a little extra work making the sponge cake from scratch, but the final result was so worth it. The only thing I did differently was to make the top layer from 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. I added powdered sugar to taste and a tsp of vanilla. I made a stabilized whipped cream topping by adding 1 1/2 tsp of unflavored gelatin to 1 1/2 Tbsp of hot water. I topped each piece with a raspberry coulis. It looked and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
fantastic recipe, made in a 9x13 and it came out perfect, my kids really enjoyed this cake as well, a nice change to the typical cake. I will def make again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I didn't didn't really like the way the cake turned out. The milk mixture didn't completely soak in the cake. I let it sit in the fridge for over several hours. I was a little disappointed in the cake after reading the previous reviews and making the cake myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States