Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Excellent pizza sauce! I would however only use this for pizza, not on pasta. I made this ultra quick and easy by doing an uncooked version. I took the tomato paste and blended it with 2/3 cup of warm water then added the wine. I used only 1 tsp. of sugar and then mixed in the rest of the ingredients leaving out the olive oil. I used minced garlic from the jar and added additional 1/4 tsp. of onion powder, 1/4 tsp. of salt, and 1/4 tsp. of marjoram. Absolutely perfect and I would love to try this as a dip for mozzarella sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I've tried a couple pizza sauce recipes on this site and never really liked any of them, until I found this one! As others noted, it's a terrific base to start with and tinker to your tastes. I added 1/4 tsp of marjoram and 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning in addition to the called for spices. I also cut the sugar and grated Parmesan in half and omitted the wine. after simmering i turned the burner off and let it sit there on the warm stove covered while I baked cookies and prepared the whole wheat pizza crust so that the flavors would have time to blend even more. It turned out fantastic! I had friends over for dinner and they raved! Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonnyTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Yum! The only thing I might change next time is adding just a teensy bit less sugar. (My husband doesn't care for sweet sauces.) However, if you try this and think it's too sweet, a teaspoon or so of vinegar will help. Just for myself, I thought it was great. MUCH better than most jarred sauces. NOTE: I do recommend this for pizzas, but not as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
The sauce was good as a pizza sauce, but does not stand alone. At all. If you're looking for pizza sauce, use this recipe, but if you're looking for pasta sauce, look somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I upped the serving amount to six and I threw in more minced garlic and one minced sweet onion. I also used brown sugar instead of white. After taste testing it, I added additional oregano and basil. I used this in Pepperoni Pizza Bake. One of the best pizza sauces I've found on this site, with adjustments. The longer it simmers, the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
The BEST pizza sauce! I can't figure out why there aren't more ratings yet for this recipe. I have tried many others looking for the perfect pizza sauce to go with the perfect pizza. Although my pizzas were really good, there was something missing. This recipe is the missing link. It is absolutely delicious on pizza and nothing is missing anymore. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Great pizza sauce! As other reviewers stated, I did not add 2 teaspoons of sugar, more like 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. I didn't have any red wine on hand, but the sauce was delicious without it! The cheese thickens the sauce and really brings it together. This is definitely going to be my pizza sauce to go to now and I will never buy jarred pizza sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was perfect, I used half 1/4 a teaspoon of salt/pepper, and let it cook down slightly, and I must say absolutely the best pizza sauce ive ever had, thank you thank you thank you for this delicious recipe, will deff use often =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Only giving 4 stars because I changed a few things. Wilth the changes, fabulous sauce! My changes; cut the sugar in half, and only add as much water as needed for desired thickness. I made this once with the wine and once without the wine.....definitely add the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Pretty good but not perfect pizza sauce. I can't put my finger on what's missing so I'll keep looking for that perfect recipe. Definately would not work as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States