Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I have always used an uncooked sauce for my pizza. I will use this from now on, really gave it that "pizzeria" taste. I left out the wine and added extra spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was phenomenal! I used Cavit Pinot Noir for the wine and only 1 tbs of sugar instead of 2. I only had a mix of Parmesan and Romano cheese so I used that. It was absolutely delicious! We made pizza using the Pizza Dough II recipe from this site. I will definitely make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMCHASER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was great. I was in need of a recipe for sauce that didn't require tomato sauce b/c I didn't have any. Luckily I found this one and it was wonderful. Very good! I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I followed the recipe and it tasted too much like tomato paste. I added an extra 1/4 c of water to knock off the overly acidic taste, and a teaspoon of Italian Seasoning for some extra flavor. We had it on pasta. The kids ate it and hubby said "It's alright." I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
i did not care for this recipe at all. the wine was overpowering and it wasn't very flavorful. i will stick to store bought pizza sauce after all it's not that expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Beautiful color & consistency. Made the recipe as stated & used it on pizza. Did not find it too sweet. It is kinda bland though. This is a great base sauce to tweak & make it to your liking. Maybe some red pepper flakes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My husband and I love the taste of this sauce. And it is so-o-o-o easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Good basic recipe. However, I cut sugar to 1 tsp. It's very mild as far as spices go, so I played with it and add additional spices to suit my family's tastes. Makes enough sauce for 4-6 personal pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
The sauce was good as a pizza sauce, but does not stand alone. At all. If you're looking for pizza sauce, use this recipe, but if you're looking for pasta sauce, look somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States