Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I have been experimenting with pizza sauces recipes and found this to be the best and also one of the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great sauce. I followed the recipe exactly and loved the flavor. I will be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used crushed garlic, sweet & low, italian seasoning, cajan spice and crushed red pepper. WoW! sauce with a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made a double batch of this for the first time this evening - I really enjoyed it! I think this is a great base recipe - you can really do what you want with it. On the suggestion of many reviewers, I simply added a pinch of sugar and I think that was great - everything else I followed "roughly" (I don't measure herbs and things anymore). This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vtelf03

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I've tried a couple pizza sauce recipes on this site and never really liked any of them, until I found this one! As others noted, it's a terrific base to start with and tinker to your tastes. I added 1/4 tsp of marjoram and 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning in addition to the called for spices. I also cut the sugar and grated Parmesan in half and omitted the wine. after simmering i turned the burner off and let it sit there on the warm stove covered while I baked cookies and prepared the whole wheat pizza crust so that the flavors would have time to blend even more. It turned out fantastic! I had friends over for dinner and they raved! Definitely a keeper in my recipe box. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonnyTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This sauce is not too bad. I did not use the alloted amount of sugar. I only used a pinch. This is great to get you started creating your own flavors or following the recipe is a good thing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Nope not impressed. Sorry, I so wanted it to be good since it is very easy to make. It had a weird tinny taste I couldn't put my finger on may have been the wine I used, maybe good to drink but not good to put in pizza sauce I don't know for sure. I thought it just needed more sugar so I ended up putting a bit more than 3 teaspoons and that was my limit would have been too sweet with anymore. Tried to add more spices and still blah. Darn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
To me, this was just average. It tasted like it had a little too much garlic and sugar. I also used generic red cooking wine, which probably didn't help. Don't get me wrong, this sauce went pretty good on a homemade pizza, but I wouldn't use it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I have always used an uncooked sauce for my pizza. I will use this from now on, really gave it that "pizzeria" taste. I left out the wine and added extra spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was phenomenal! I used Cavit Pinot Noir for the wine and only 1 tbs of sugar instead of 2. I only had a mix of Parmesan and Romano cheese so I used that. It was absolutely delicious! We made pizza using the Pizza Dough II recipe from this site. I will definitely make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMCHASER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States