Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Skipped the red wine because I didn't have any on hand and this recipe still turned out great. Super easy and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Perfect! I added a little garlic powder and garlic salt. I'll never by jarred pizza sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This pizza sauce was awesome!! I added some diced onion to it and used marsala as the wine, since it was the only thing I had around at the time. It made our pizza taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I modified this sauce for use in Lasagne. I used 1 large and 1 small can of tomato sauce, 2 cans tomato paste, and one egg and 1 lb. of ground beef-cooked. I omitted the water, salt and pepper, and tripled the other ingredients using Bergundy cooking wine. Delicious! My family loved it!! I can't wait to try it as a pizza/spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourth_kid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Great pizza sauce! As other reviewers stated, I did not add 2 teaspoons of sugar, more like 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. I didn't have any red wine on hand, but the sauce was delicious without it! The cheese thickens the sauce and really brings it together. This is definitely going to be my pizza sauce to go to now and I will never buy jarred pizza sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Possibly one of my favorite recipes! I use it all the time - for pizza, pasta, and lasagne. It's so nice to have a delicious base to customize for any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I upped the serving amount to six and I threw in more minced garlic and one minced sweet onion. I also used brown sugar instead of white. After taste testing it, I added additional oregano and basil. I used this in Pepperoni Pizza Bake. One of the best pizza sauces I've found on this site, with adjustments. The longer it simmers, the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was perfect, I used half 1/4 a teaspoon of salt/pepper, and let it cook down slightly, and I must say absolutely the best pizza sauce ive ever had, thank you thank you thank you for this delicious recipe, will deff use often =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very basic red sauce. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Only giving 4 stars because I changed a few things. Wilth the changes, fabulous sauce! My changes; cut the sugar in half, and only add as much water as needed for desired thickness. I made this once with the wine and once without the wine.....definitely add the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States