Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Great sauce! I wonder if I can make pizza lasagna? The crust I used wasn't that great but the sauce did a great job of helping me ignore that. Family came back for more and my 2 year old son licked the sauce off the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
No more store bought pizza sauce. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I love this sauce but did change a few things. I reduced the amount of sugar by half, increased the wine by one tablespoon, and added 1/4 tsp. anise seed. Tastes just like the pizzaria's sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Simple, cost effective and easy. This is the only recipe I use for homemade pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I usually buy the jar pizza sauce but didn't feel like running back to the store because I forgot to pick some up. I made this for three pizzas and so subbed some tomato sauce for the water. I added in a bit more of the dried spice and garlic. The wine and cheese sure gave a nice flavor to this and everybody said it was the best sauce they've ever had. I may not buy the jar stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I just made this for the first time today. I did modify the recipe above slightly, cutting the sugar down to 1 tsp and adding another 1/2 tsp of oregano. It is awesome! As for the wine, I used 1 tbsp of a very sweet concord red wine, and 1 tbsp of a very dry Cabernet. I think I will cut back on the oil next time as it is a little too much, but it still is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Tasty, but a little too oily. I think 1 Tbsp of oil would be enough to saute the garlic in. Super easy to make and used ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Excellent! The wife and I ALWAYS buy store bought pizza sauce and while making pizza, we had no pizza sauce so I found this recipe. I will NEVER buy store pizza sauce again. We were so pleased with how the flavors blended together and the consistency of it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Still not as good as my local pizza place... but it is a good quick sauce. May add a beef cube to it next time to try and make it richer tasting. Just don't put too much on the pizza or it will overwhelm all the flavor of the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I will never buy pizza sauce from a store again! This was fast, easy, delicious, and cheap! I cut back on the sugar and omitted the wine (didn't have any, although I'd like to try it with the wine some time) and it was fantastic! I used this with my usual homemade pizza dough recipe and the pizza turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States