Pasta/Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great quick recipe- even without the wine (I just subbed water in its place)- this recipe as written makes enough sauce to do 4 impromptu mini pizzas using Flatout flatbreads as the crust- perfectly. (Oven at 425 for 9-11 min ) add toppings as desired. I can see using this recipe weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So quick and easy! Perfect for pizza. I like to let it sit awhile before using it to let the favors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I wasn't so sure about this while making as it turned out really dark in color. Not sure if that is just my particular can of tomato paste or what, but on the pizza, it was delish! I used the full amount of sugar (tried less, as people suggested, but kept adding it until I got to around the 2 teas that the recipe calls for.) I let it simmer for about an hour or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I didn't have oregano or basil but I used 1 tsp of Italian Spice Mix. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Perfect sauce recipe when you don't have both tomato paste AND tomato sauce. I added more than 1/4 teaspoon of the spices, and added Italian Seasoning, too. I really liked it, especially when I wasn't expecting to make pizza sauce from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved it. I halved the sugar and simmered for 20 minutes. This will always top my homemade crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New York, USA
Living In: North Lawrence, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This sauce is fantastic! I quadruple the recipe and freeze the leftovers for future pizza nights. Letting it simmer a little while really helps meld the flavors together. I also add a 1/2 Tablespoon of butter to round out any acidic bite it may have at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
excellent!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This sauce is delicious! I did use minced garlic from a jar, and also added 1 tsp. of dried minced onion while it simmered. I used this sauce as a binder to make stuffed portabella mushroom caps and they were really good. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was very nice. I used it on two pizzas and it tasted like I thought it should - slightly sweet and the right amount of herbs. My cooking time was a bit longer than 10 minutes, though, since I wanted to get a thick-enough consistency. More and more I'm liking the idea of recipes that replace prepackaged things, so I'll give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States