Pasta with Tomato and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
My husband didn't expect to like this but he really did. It wasn't very saucy, but over all really tasty. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This dish was perfect for unexpected quest. It makes you look like a wiz in the kitchen!:) I added some crushed red peppers for an extra kick, I also added some fresh spinach I had laying around. It was hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was looking for a recipe with stuff I had at home as I didn't feel like going to the store. I entered pasta, tomato, cheese and bacon in ingredients and this recipe came up. I'm glad it did! It was really good. It true that it looks dry at first but it is perfect when you mix it with the pastas. After reading the reviews I did this: I put in 7 slices of bacon which I cut in 1 inch slices before cooking them. After removing the bacon, I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon fat. Since I didn't have a can of tomatoes, I used 3 fresh tomatoes,removed the skin and diced them. I don't like parmesan cheese so I put in 1/2 cup of mozzarella which I mixed in with the pastas and sauce before serving. I used rotini pastas. I will make it the same way again and have a bowl of freshly grated parmesan cheese available for those who like it. This is now a favorite. Thanks Catherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
loved this! it did look kinda dry and pale when i tossed the pasta in but turned out to be very very flavorful. very minor alteration i made was i didn't remove the sauce from heat when i tossed in the pasta. then i mixed in the cheese to let it melt with the pasta. that way, the cheese kinda coated the pasta and made it more flavorful. yummy! i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very good...didn't use spaghetti though, use the pasta of your choice or what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
this was ok, was hoping for more bacon flavor i guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight. It was good, but needs a little more pick me up. I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon fat and added some garlic and onion salt but it still needed something. I'm not into to spicy foods, but I'm sure my husband would have added some pepper flakes to the sauce. I served it with a veggie and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I like discovering new variations on the traditional way to make spaghetti, and this tasty recipe fills the bill. It's easy to make and uses simple ingredients I happened to have on hand. I doubled the recipe to make sure it adequately fed my hungry husband and son, and there was plenty to feed the three of us plus leftovers. I used 8 slices of bacon (I had previously divided up a 3-pound package into freezer bags), and I didn't drain off the grease, as it helped to make the recipe more flavorful. I sauteed the onion and garlic in the grease and then added the tomatoes and cooked bacon. I simply crumbled the bacon into the sauce rather than breaking it into 1/2" pieces. I also used diced, rather than stewed, tomatoes because that's what I had in the cupboard, and they provided nice bits of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
It needs more spices or something. I thought it was bland, but it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
The hubby and I tried this and we loved it. Definitely something that I will be adding to my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States