Pasta with Tomato and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
My Mother used to make a variation of this recipe that she called "Bohemian Spaghetti." This recipe uses garlic and other herbs, which I think give it a certain flair. However, these ingrediants don't seem to be 'to scale.' I suggest using a little leftover bacon grease to cook the onions in, and possibly an extra can of broken up stewed tomatoes (if you cook it the way its listed, it will be very dry.) Also, I heat the pasta after its mixed for a few minutes (while stirring) so that it absorbs all of the flavor. (The way I make it has it turn out a little greasy, but the flavor more than makes up for it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was looking for a recipe with stuff I had at home as I didn't feel like going to the store. I entered pasta, tomato, cheese and bacon in ingredients and this recipe came up. I'm glad it did! It was really good. It true that it looks dry at first but it is perfect when you mix it with the pastas. After reading the reviews I did this: I put in 7 slices of bacon which I cut in 1 inch slices before cooking them. After removing the bacon, I cooked the onions and garlic in the bacon fat. Since I didn't have a can of tomatoes, I used 3 fresh tomatoes,removed the skin and diced them. I don't like parmesan cheese so I put in 1/2 cup of mozzarella which I mixed in with the pastas and sauce before serving. I used rotini pastas. I will make it the same way again and have a bowl of freshly grated parmesan cheese available for those who like it. This is now a favorite. Thanks Catherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Yes! Pasta just as it should be! Lightly dressed, not buried in heavy, overly-spiced, thick, pasty sauce! (Gross) I loved this, with its few fresh, simple flavors and ingredients. Since I made only a few ounces of pasta for the two of us, I didn't open up a can of tomatoes. Rather, I used a few red ripe, Campari tomatoes, fresh parsley, and the herb seasonings to taste – and a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
very easy, just the right blend of spices. It looked a little dry while cooking. however, it turned out great. Not enough for four of my friends. Make More!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This is a great alternative to the regular spaghetti sauce. Make sure you use a good cut of bacon to get that great smokie flavor. I really enjoyed it and it was a great way to use some of the fresh herbs from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Love this! My 3 year old loved it too. I added some more stewed tomatoes because it looked like it needed more. In the end it would have been fine with the original amount-but it still turned out great. I added some leftover hamburger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My family really liked this. It was very tasty and I will definitely make it again. I used the already cooked bacon so it was a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is easy and very good. I added capers and more garlic. We will diffenately have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very good...didn't use spaghetti though, use the pasta of your choice or what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent! And so simple. This tastes like something a high-end Italian restaurant would serve. Try it--you already have all the ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States