Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
This was fantastic! I did make some minor adjustments to the recipe. I used one 14 oz. can diced tomatoes and one 14 oz. can of tomato puree instead of the 28 oz. jar of pasta sauce. I used cream instead of half and half, and I added 1 Tbsp. of sugar. We served it over cheese tortellini and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Yum. I could eat this sauce with a spoon. Very delicious. I used heavy whipping cream since that is what I had, and then tossed it with 24 ozs cooked spaghetti. Think next time I will use less spaghetti so that it is saucier. I wanted to dip my bread in this. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Winner Dinner! What a easy & wonderful tasting sauce. I used Classico Traditional Sweet Basil sauce. I loved the hint of nutmeg in the sauce (I used fresh grated nutmeg, so it may have been a bit stronger). Teamed with Fast & Friendly Meatballs from this site for a family pleasing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was very good. I used milk instead of half and half and some stewed tomatoes blended up instead of the pasta sauce. It took a while to boil the extra liquid off, but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
So easy and so good, did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Thank goodness I heeded others advice about the excess sauce - used 12oz pasta instead of only 8oz and it still alot of sauce leftover. BUT it was delicious! I too used a "garden chunky" pasta sauce (that has green peppers, onions & mushrooms) and I steamed some fresh broccoli - I placed the pasta on the plate, then the sauce, then the broccoli and finally, sprinkled the parmesan and a little mozzerella cheese overall. Very "pretty" and VERY tasty. No guest would guess that it was soooo easy to make. Thank you much Brenda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
While this was good, it was a lot of work for something that you can pretty much get from a jar anyway - for example a pasta vodka creamy tomato sauce. I did make it exactly what the recipe called for and served it over tortellini, but it is definitely NOT a quick meal. It takes some time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
very easy quick dinner. The key to this recipe is it will only be as good as the ingredients you use. So, if you try to get away with a cheap spag. sauce, you may get a bland result. The higher quality sauces tend to have little chunks of veggies and more flavour to start with, therefore, your end result will be more flavourfull. I also added roasted red/yellow/orange peppers. I have done this before but completely forgot about it! thanks for the reminder. Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was perfect. I used a can of tomatoes that I simmered down for the sauce and then added the rest of the ingredients. Can't wait to try it with tomatoes from the garden. I really like the nutmeg and used 1% cream instead of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Sorry, this was just kind of boring for us. I love vodka cream sauces and don't find them to be bland at all - maybe that is what I was missing from this. I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States