Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok. I thought it was a bit bland, this even after I added mushrooms, capers and chicken. Perhaps it needed more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I liked this recipe mostly because I didn't want to be bothered with making the sauce from scratch. My boyfriend thought that it still tasted mostly like marinara, and while I partially agree, it was a pleasing departure from traditional spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I really enjoyed this cream sauce recipe although I made some changes. I used crushed tomatoes instead of jarred pasta sauce. To flavor it I threw in a chopped onion, garlic, oregano, fresh basil, salt, pepper and nutmeg. I poured it over cavatelli pasta mixed with broccoli, peas, mushrooms, and ground turkey and baked it until it bubbled. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was a good sauce recipe, but I did make a few changes. Not fond of jarred sauces, I used canned diced tomatoes and added chopped onion as my sauce starting point. I added more garlic and some parmesan cheese to the sauce as it cooked for more flavor. I also added just a touch more half and half for a creamier texture. My sauce did thicken as it simmered and as recommened I made more pasta than the recipe stated. It turned out quite good- I will make this again, but with my variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
My husband, who is generally less than thrilled when I make pasta with traditional meat sauce, seriously perked up when I presented him with this wonderfully creamy tomato based sauce. I used a good store bought sauce with black olives and mushrooms and used whipping cream instead of half and half. He was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Very simple to make. The only change I made was to add fresh basil rather than dried. It was delicious. Served with stuffed pork chops and broccoli, red pepper, mushrooms in butter sauce and fresh Alaskan sour dough bread. A speical occasion meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Thanks so much! This meal was enjoyed by my husband & I, as well as, our kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was very easy. Family loved, except for my 5 year old! She said it was "hot." (spicy) Maybe I'll use less basil. Don't leave out the nutmeg! What a wonderful spice! I'm not sure if I like this better than my regular spaghetti, but it's nice for a change. Use 12 oz of pasta- I used thin spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Nice, the comments about the ratio of sauce to pasta are spot on. Using a 'ridged' pasta shape would help with a thin sauce like this. And I agree with the person who swapped out the pre-made pasta sauce for tomatos. Jarred pasta sauce varies so much in quality and ingredients that I would rather work from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This recipe is fast, easy, and so good. I used whipping cream instead of half-and-half and omitted the nutmeg (didn't have any on hand), and it was still good. The only thing I would change would be the amount of pasta - there's too much sauce for just 8 ounces of angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States