Pasta with Spinach Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
An interesting recipe. I was intrigued by the idea of using tofu as a creamy sauce base since my boyfriend is lactose intolerant and I can't make creamy sauces often. The recipe says "firm silken tofu" which is confusing since those are the two ends of the tofu spectrum, but assuming it meant soft enough for use in a sauce, I used soft tofu. I don't have a blender so I cut up the spinach by hand and used a mixer for the rest. It was still a little thicker than I'd like so I added more chicken stock. I also increased the spice, and used a variety I had on hand instead of 'italian', and tossed in some tomatoes. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
very good and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Delicious! I left out the tofu and bacon, used fresh oregano and basil in place of "Italian seasoning", and used only white mushrooms. It was amazing-- quite a lot better than I expected. I'm glad I tried this and will make it many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
DID NOT LIKE THIS ONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I switched out tofu for Feta cheese, came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Good stuff. I thought more bacon might have been better, if a little less sexy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
My hubbie and I didn't really care for this recipe, it was very bland and I agree with some of the other opinions: the color wasn't appealing. We tried adding garlic salt and garlic powder to give it more flavor, but it didn't help. Maybe if you fry bacon, onions, and mushrooms together it might help. I don't know if I'd make this again, it was a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I just made the sauce itself - left out chicken broth and all the mushrooms. It was amazing. It tasted like it was very bad for you, when in fact it is very healthy. five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XPOKEYX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I guess it was ok for healthy pesto, but I really don't think it tasted all that great. Both hubby and I said it was ok to eat, but won't be making it again. Maybe it's the raw spinach taste, but something about this dish is not right. It looked a bit unappetizing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
a very healthy alternative to pesto (spinach is so good for you) but not exactly the same thing. I liked it as a spinach sauce-type thing but a pesto it is not...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States