Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Pretty good says BSr. I used linguini pasts, sugar snap peas instead of zuc (but would like to try it with zuc, cause might be saucier), just a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, a comb of dried and fresh basil, cause did not have enough fresh, lots of tomatoes. I drizzled a bit extra olive oil over top, near the end. Was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I liked it, but I deviated significantly from the original recipe. I opted to stray even before making it once as listed because the ratio of pasta-meat-veggies seemed way off. I increased the veggies by at least 2x (used 28oz can diced tomatoes, zucchini, and added a pint of mushrooms). Used 1lb scallop and .5lb shrimp with just a half pound of pasta, and the ratio still seemed off. The flavor was good though - just adjust ingredients for a better balance, depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Good recipe, but the crushed red pepper brought a little more heat than I prefer with scallops. I halved the recipe for all ingredients except the scallops and roma tomatoes (I used right at a pound of scallops and 3 roma tomatoes). I also added about 1/4 white wine to the zucchini as they were sautéing. This fed 2 ravenous adults with a bit leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
That's it! enough is enough as I have flat had it! I must digest as I can eat no more! Because the ingredients work so well together and is simple to put together I give it five out of five Burps! well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe was amazing. My children even loved it. However, the only thing I may change in the future is the amount of red pepper flakes. My husband, my son and myself thought the amount was fine, but my daughter thought it was too spicy. So I may add a lil less next time. Otherwise, I am absolutely in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was awesome! My husband makes his own red pepper blend, and it gave it quite a kick! The pepper blend my husband makes includes many different red hot peppers. I can't wait to make it again.I didn't change a thing, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe many times for family and company because it's simple, fresh, and flavorful. I typically use sea scallops because they are more flavorful and less likely to become tough. Sea scallops need to cook longer (before adding the vegetables) than the smaller bay scallops. I suggest keeping a close eye on the vegetables as they cook to make sure they don't get overdone. The tomatoes should only cook for a minute or two at the most. Fresh basil and Parmesan are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Recipe is a little bland as listed. I took another user's suggestion and added white wine, lemon juice, onion, and summer squash and it was pretty good. I would also recommend more tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mztry
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was a hit with my seafood eaters! I was surprised at the colorful presentation, fragrant aroma, but slightly disappointed with the flavor. Feedback from the family included the scallops were too bland unless you ate it with everything else. I added smoked paprika (one of my favorite spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a recipe that has become a regular at our household, however as others have noted, we had to slightly change it. With the changes it is amazing! We love spicy food, so we actually just tripled the red pepper flakes (to 1 and a half teaspoons, instead), and it has a kick but is not too much. I think even for people who don't like a ton of spice it should still be doubled, as the first time we made it is was really bland. As a reference, I order the 1-2 star spice levels at Thai places, so that should tell you something... The other tip I'd give is that we use vine ripe tomatoes instead of plum. The flavor of the tomato makes the meal, so we make sure to get really nice plump tomatoes. I still do 4, even though they are bigger than plum, but we love tomatoes. Last- don't make the mistake of thinking you can substitute dried basil for fresh (we did this once when the basil was forgotten at the store, and it completely changed the flavor). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Tuna Zucchini Elbow Pasta

A quick-and-easy pasta for no-fuss weeknight dinners.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States