Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This tasted like 10 stars when I was done with it, but in all fairness I'll give it a 4 since I made so many changes. I didn't have garlic in the house (I freak out when that happens) so I sauteed half an onion with a bit of garlic salt instead. I used shrimp instead of scallops. I used fresh parsley as well as basil. I added a splash of white wine and a spoon of pesto. It was incredible. My husband loved it and he doesn't even like tomatoes, onions, or zucchini very much. So I did make a lot of changes, but this recipe has GREAT bones, and I would highly recommend that you try it and feel free to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I used whole wheat angel hair pasta and ground black pepper instead of crushed red pepper flakes. Used the dried basil and didn't measure anything. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING!!! I have made it several time for family and friend, and all have LOVED it... It's healthy and delicious at the same time! I use the frozen, smaller version of scallops (sea scallops I think) and they work just as well. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingchick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I used 1 lb. of bay scallops and added about 1/2 lb. of med. shrimp. I also used whole wheat thin spaghetti. I tried the other suggestions with 1/2 cup of white wine, and I used 2 T. of butter with 2 T. EVOO. 1/4 cup of EVOO is not necessary. I also cut the red pepper flakes to a heaping 1/4 t. b/c I knew 1/2 t. was too much for my guest. I didn't have fresh basil so I used 1 T. of dried that I crushed in my palms. We thought it was delicious with these changes which were minor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
turned out great for New Years Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is even good without the scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Wow this recipe I will make over and over, it was fantastic. I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I love scallops and this receipte was very good. I loved it. Very light and tasty. I didn't even make the pasta. I ate it as is and it was delicious. Would definitely make it again and would try different seasfood to simulate the same flavor. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tastingchic
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is a pretty good recipe. I have to hands down give my Venetian's friend's scallops a five compared to this one. I agree with reviewers that it needed more flavor. I added some fresh onion to the mix with the garlic and some white wine as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastingchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight with a few modifications... First, when I added the tomatoes and basil, I threw in about 1/2 cup of the white wine I was going to have with dinner. Also, I had huge, beautiful sea scallops that I pan fried separately (dust of flour, pan fry in medium-hot oil, baste with oil and melted butter) and then added individually on top of each plate. Top with a little grated romano, and voila! A wonderful dish that used local, summer-ripened vegetables. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheatfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Tuna Zucchini Elbow Pasta

A quick-and-easy pasta for no-fuss weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States