Pasta with Salami and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
To reduce the "oily" factor, I sliced the salami up and fried it in a pan on medium heat (it makes its own oil, so don't add any). I added the garlic into this once I saw it was getting crispy and needed only a few more minutes. I didn't use any butter at all, and only enough oil to lightly coat my pasta so it wouldn't stick. (maybe 1-2 tbls.) I also added halved cherry tomatoes from my garden. It was delicious, and not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was AWESOME! Usually I prefer to try a recipe exactly as it's written before fiddling with it, but I found this recipe while trying to avoid a trip to the grocery store, so I used what I had on hand. Instead of green onions, I used a small yellow onion, minced, and a scant 1/2 tsp. chili powder substituted for the cayenne. I also cut back on the butter and used the cheap canister parmesan rather than fresh grated; however, I don't think these changes altered the character of the dish. Perfect for a quick and flavorful weeknight dinner! Edited to update: I still make this fairly often. I never add salt (there's enough in the pasta and salami), and I usually leave out the butter. Olive oil seems essential to me, but I think using cotto salami rather than hard salami makes it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I use this recipe a lot. I have made my own adjustments. I don't think anyone wanys to hear them. This is a great tasting dish, that is somewhat healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Tasty, easy. A good way to use up salami. I think my salami was the soft kind, not the hard, but it came out fine. I can see where some people might find it greasy--I think you could cut back a bit on the oil without problem. Perhaps also next time I will try heavily salting the pasta when I cook it, so I don't end up putting extra salt on top of the already salty salami. Update: Made this again, and I took another reviewer's advice and fried the salami, then used the salami grease to fry onion, etc. Came out a lot less greasy. I didn't add any oil or butter, and it was fine, although if you wish, you could add a bit at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Overall, we liked this, although by the end of the meal the greasiness got a bit over-powering from the salami coupled with the sauce. The flavors were good, though, and the peas were a nice addition. It made for a pretty presentation. We will probably make this again and just cut back a little on the salami. I might even throw in some black olives and a diced fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used pecorino romano instead of parmesan, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great quick dish. Because some others said it was a bit greasy, we cut down on the oil/butter - for two people we only used about 2 TBL oil and no butter. We also cooked the salami ahead of time, which made it crispy, which was a nice touch. We only cooked the peas for the last 3 minutes with the pasta, otherwise I think they would have been overcooked. This is a great tasting dish that is easy and I think it would be easy to add/sub different veggies depending on what you have on hand. I think next time I will add corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I love this! I changed nothing about it, and I thought it was perfect. Much spicier than I expected.. which is a good thing! Yes, it is very greasy, but sometimes you're just in the mood for that. In fact (and you all might get on me for saying this), due to how greasy this dish is, I might think it's the perfect hangover food! Either way, though, I thought this was delicious and will 100% make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was very quick and delicious. I used farfalle pasta instead. Next time I might add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Just cut down on the oil and butter and this is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States