Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This turned out to be a REALLY good recipe! A few pointers so you can avoid the dogfood look another reader mentioned. 1) Don't turn the squash more than you have to. Once in the roasting pan and once after you add cream to the saucepan will keep it from going mushy. 2) A little butter and a crushed clove of garlic added to the roasting pan deepens the flavor. 3) Don't let the cream fritter away in the saucepan or the squash/sausage mix will turn to stew and you won't have enough sauce for the penne. 4) You might not even need the pasta - the mix is that good. This is a very tasty, restaurant-quality recipe and the slight drizzle of balsamico adds subtle sparkle to the flavor. An Excellent dish - I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I customized, I roasted the squash for about 45 minutes to give it those nice carmelized edges. I omited the sage completely. I used milk and a touch of cornstarch instead of cream. AND I added a skant 1/4 cup parmasean cheese. I loved it and it made enough for leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made some modifications, but the basic idea is great and I'll be making this one again! I roasted the squash w/ olive oil, sage, a tbls of butter and a bit of chicken stock. We had neither sausage nor balsamic vinegar, but we had chicken breasts and vinaigrette salad dressing, so I baked the chicken w/ the vinaigrette and it came out super tender and tasty. I chopped that up, tossed it and the squash together w/ the pasta, a splash of milk (no cream in the house, and we didn't want a heavy meal) and some parmesan cheese. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianeV
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I used this recipe as a guide, but changed a few things based on reading other's reviews. I added about 5 cloves of garlic to the cookie sheet before roasting the squash. While the squash and garlic were roasting, I caramelized 1 medium onion in about 2 tbsp of butter. Please note that I omitted the balsamic vinegar completely from this recipe, but I did use dried sage, since I didn’t have fresh on hand. After the turkey sausage was completely cooked, I kept the flame on medium-low and added the caramelized onions to the pan, then added about ¾ cup of chicken broth, ¼ cup half and half, ¼ cup of fresh, grated parmesan and Romano cheese, and a dash of dried rosemary. I stirred this quite frequently. When the squash and garlic were done I added them to the sausage and onion mixture, being careful not to stir too vigorously so the squash cubes would remain intact. I used fresh linguine instead of penne, and as soon as the pasta was cooked, I drained it and poured the sausage mixture over it in a wide pasta bowl. For a finishing touch, I tore bits of fresh basil and tossed it on top. My husband and 7 year daughter devoured it! Take a look at my photo of this lovely dish! It was very flavorful. I may make it again using pork sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was just divine. I made a couple of alterations. i used skim milk instead of the cream to cut down the fat and added some diced up summer squash to the sauce as I had some I wanted to use up. I did forget to add the balsamic vinegar to my portion last night but I will remember to do that for the leftovers. Oh yes, I didn't have sausage so I used chicken breast. I really want to try this sometime when I can get my hands on some fresh sage. I looked in the store and there was none to be found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
we love this! I used sweet Italian sausage ( cubed 1/2 in). Instead of roasting the squash ( also cubed 1/2 in.) and onion I sauteed them on med. high heat in a little olive oil, and in the same pan as I cooked the sausage. They carmelized nicely and the squash held its shape well.I also added some fresh sage to the sautee. After adding the half & half, more fresh sage, and a sbout a 1//3 cup fresh Parmesan cheese I let the sauce sit while the pasta cooked to blend the flavors. It was a great hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My daughter made this today. She used ground turkey burger in place of the turkey sausage. She also used some (not the 2 tsp.) poultry seasoning (did not have any sage) and left out the vinegar. She made it lighter using skim milk in place of the cream. She will definately be making this again! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This recipe bombed. My child and husband hated it. I'm not a very big fan of sage in food other than dressing anyway but this dish was bland and had no taste. After a couple of bites, I had to throw the entire meal out. Trust me, this one's bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I made this last week for dinner. It was pretty good. My husband really liked it. I only give it 4 stars because it's not very pretty, the dish looks all tan-colored to me. BUT, I don't like to dice the squash b/c it's kinda tedious, so I roasted it, and therefore the squash was basically added to the pasta in a smashed state, not diced, so that's why it's not as neat and orderly as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good, but dry. As other reviewers have noted, I used milk with cornstarch instead of cream, but I almost tripled the amount of liquid to keep the dish from being too dry. Other than that, great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States