Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is excellent-my family could not stop raving about it! I only made a few changes, the first being to add the garlic with the squash and onions for roasting (I don't particularly like the flavor of raw garlic). I also used Italian flavored chicken sausage, a brand that my local grocery store carries which is always good. Finally, I made this with gluten free penne from Trader Joe's (I have Celiac disease), and my family didn't know they were eating brown rice pasta until I told them! Oh, I also used fresh sage, I'm always looking for ways to incorporate my favorite fresh herb into recipes-it worked very well. Go easy on the balsamic at the end-we just drizzled it over each serving from a cruet, which added a nice sweet finish, but I could see how too much would kill the dish. This is one of the best recipes I've tried in a long time, and a great way to use one of fall's best harvests-enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was a delicious recipe. To give it a bit more flavor, I used chipolte olive oil and hot and spicy turkey sausage. I also used less sage, since I am not a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Okay. Cream and balsamic -- together!? I was skeptical. I tried it anyway. It was amazing! I skipped the sage and forgot the garlic and used half-and-half. Also, I only added the half-and-half to the portion we were going to eat tonight so the sauce would not get absorbed by the squash. It's will be easy to add more to the leftovers. I added a little parm too (okay, and bacon, but who's keeping track?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I used acorn squash, rosemary, and left over ground beef and it was still so good! The balsamic at the end is definitely a needed ingrediant - it makes the dish amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used Itialian sweet sausage for a little more flavor. I also used pre cut squash. I roasted garlic with the squash and onion rather than adding raw garlic at the end. Some in my family don't like balsamic so I left it out. I topped with freshly grated parmesan. I didn't bother to put the pasta in the skillet; I just added the squash mixture to the pasta in the serving dish. Don't "cube" squash too small and don't overcook. I doubled the recipe and will make again. A meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Didn't work out at all.. Looked like mush and tasted worse! Couldn't be rescued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good. Wonderful combination of flavors. I used 1/2 a large butternut that I roasted with 1 T maple syrup and 2 T olive oil. I used more squash, so I needed more liquid and I used fat free half and half. I spinkled a few dried cranberries on top. Leftovers yummy without the pasta....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We absolutely loved this recipe. The changes I made were: I tossed the squash & onion in the olive oil before putting in roasting pan. Baked 35 min & squash was still somewhat firm. After I added it to the meat & poured in the heavy cream, I covered the pan & turned to low heat so it could steam while I cooked the pasta. Used bowtie pasta. I never added the pasta to the sauce mix, I just put the mix over the pasta on the plates. It was excellent & made for great leftovers. My husband wants me to make it again this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I gave this 4 stars as I didn't quite use the recipe, more 'inspired by' this recipe. I roasted the butternut squash with a little olive oil and black pepper, and also roasted chicken breasts (with glaze of olive oil, soy sauce, maple syrup and French mustard). Then, I sauted shallots in butter, added butternut squash, chicken and peas, before adding single cream, 2 tablespoons of parmesan and some chopped parsley. Finally added the cooked pasta to the pan, and served with garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States