Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I customized, I roasted the squash for about 45 minutes to give it those nice carmelized edges. I omited the sage completely. I used milk and a touch of cornstarch instead of cream. AND I added a skant 1/4 cup parmasean cheese. I loved it and it made enough for leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
used real sausage was the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was rich with flavor. I used half the balsalmic vinegar that it called for...it seemed to be a bit much. Next time I will double the squash. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Super rich recipe. My sauce came out really thick and goopy. Had good flavor but I think I will try it next time with a browned butter sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was not at all what I expected... but excellent. The contrast between the tart balsamic, rich meat/cream and the sweet butternut squash created a nice depth of flavor. I doubled the squash (about 3 cups, 1/2 a squash) and used macaroni noodles (didn't have penne). Other than that, no changes were necessary. Pair this dish with a crunchy vegetable for a nice texture contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was excellent. However, I did make a few of the suggested changes. When I roasted the squash, I added sage and garlic. I felt that 1/4 c cream was not enough. I ended up using almost a pint. I also used mild Italian sausage as that is what I had in the freezer. It worked well! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I left out the meat & used steamed summer squash. I used whole milk instead of cream. I served it cold the next day. The flavors had time to blend in the frig. A lovely light lunch fare with nice delicate flavors. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
It was too dry could use more of a sauce. The cream and the balsamic vinaigrette made a sticky coagulation. I probably wouldn’t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This turned out to be a REALLY good recipe! A few pointers so you can avoid the dogfood look another reader mentioned. 1) Don't turn the squash more than you have to. Once in the roasting pan and once after you add cream to the saucepan will keep it from going mushy. 2) A little butter and a crushed clove of garlic added to the roasting pan deepens the flavor. 3) Don't let the cream fritter away in the saucepan or the squash/sausage mix will turn to stew and you won't have enough sauce for the penne. 4) You might not even need the pasta - the mix is that good. This is a very tasty, restaurant-quality recipe and the slight drizzle of balsamico adds subtle sparkle to the flavor. An Excellent dish - I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Suggestion: this recipe should say that you'll need 5-10 minutes to "cube" the pumpkin. Otherwise, a very nice recipe for Autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States