Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe to the letter. I made double the amount and gave some away to a few friends so they wouldn't have to cook. When we started eating dinner NO ONE liked the recipe. I think it was the balsamic vinegar that turned everyone off. I will NOT be making this recipe again. We REALLY didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Although this recipe was a lot of work, it tasted delicious! My 1year old & 3 year old not only ate it, but had seconds! I did not have butternut squash, but I had yellow summer squash; it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I am relatively new to the recipe scene after only staying in my own home for 7 months now but I have tried a number of things by for imagination and just beautiful taste, this is by far my favourite. I cooked it exactly as described, maybe adding more cream than suggested by its paid of regardless. I still feel that it will take something out of the world to receive a 5 star rating but it takes nothing away from this meal. Easy to prepare, cook and for the time taking, its worth every last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diarma10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made some modifications, but the basic idea is great and I'll be making this one again! I roasted the squash w/ olive oil, sage, a tbls of butter and a bit of chicken stock. We had neither sausage nor balsamic vinegar, but we had chicken breasts and vinaigrette salad dressing, so I baked the chicken w/ the vinaigrette and it came out super tender and tasty. I chopped that up, tossed it and the squash together w/ the pasta, a splash of milk (no cream in the house, and we didn't want a heavy meal) and some parmesan cheese. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have sausage on hand so I used chicken breast chunks. It was a little bland, but I think making it with sausage would make up for that. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was just divine. I made a couple of alterations. i used skim milk instead of the cream to cut down the fat and added some diced up summer squash to the sauce as I had some I wanted to use up. I did forget to add the balsamic vinegar to my portion last night but I will remember to do that for the leftovers. Oh yes, I didn't have sausage so I used chicken breast. I really want to try this sometime when I can get my hands on some fresh sage. I looked in the store and there was none to be found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
i think this recipe would be delicious without the cream. Nothing against cream sauces, but browned butter, sage and balsamic makes a delicious sauce. I'm sure it would be amazing with the sausage and butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My daughter made this today. She used ground turkey burger in place of the turkey sausage. She also used some (not the 2 tsp.) poultry seasoning (did not have any sage) and left out the vinegar. She made it lighter using skim milk in place of the cream. She will definately be making this again! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I had a dish similar to this at a restaurant in Banff...I made this with chicken breasts turned out pretty good not quite 5 stars I found it a little dry could have used a little more of a sauce maybe a little extra cream or oil next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
To be fair, I will preface this review by saying we did make some significant modifications to this recipe. First of all, we veganized it so we replaced the turkey sausage with vegan style sausage crumbles. Also, we used a vegan style creme instead of the heavy cream. That being said, we weren't impressed with the taste. As another review noted, it tasted bland, like it needed something else to pull everything together. We also tried doing half with the balsamic vinegar and half without (since I don't like balsamic vinegar but my husband does). My hubby tried both versions and said the balsamic vinegar was just a strange addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States