Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
it is a good jumping off point - I can't rate it a 5 because I changed too much of it. I would rate my version a 5 though! I subbed 1c cooked chicken breast and 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the sausage. I also added in 2c baby spinach that I cooked in the strainer when I drained the pasta. I also added 2T asiago cheese. My kids devoured it, and I loved it, too. Went great with a nice merlot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have made this several times now and each time is fantastic. I have now shared the recipe with several friends and they loved it too. This is deffinately a keeper. The last time I made it I didn't have sage so I used oregano and it was just as good, just a slightly different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Needed more squash! But all in all, a pretty tasty blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used chicken instead of sausage, as some others suggested, and also used part milk/cornstarch, part heavy cream. I cooked the chicken in the basalmic, and pretty much just tossed everything else together. Oh, I also roasted the squash (chopped into small cubes) till it was starting to caramelize, which did take longer than 30 minutes -- yum! That was also a suggestion from another reviewer. I thought it was absolutely delicious! I love butternut squash, so it isn't really hard to please me. Hubby loved it also. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
REALLY nice recipe, even the kids ate this happily! I didn't have turkey sausage, so I used lamb sausages but everything else was per recipe and it was delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Oh my. This may sound mean, but what a gooey gross mess. This is very gross. I am not a picky eater, but I could barely choke it down. Just thinking about this makes me wretch. Vinegar and squash and sausage...not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe, yum! I followed it as written except for using milk instead of cream, and adding 1/4 c. parmesan cheese. I also roasted the squash for a longer period of time so it would cook fully through. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My husband was a little scared when he saw the butternut squash but it turned out great, the balsamic vinegar adds the perfect twist. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was really good! My boyfriend doesn't even like squash, and thought this was decent. We added red sauce and parmesan cheese to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is good because it's easily adaptable. I turned this into an entirely vegan dish by substituting Gimme Lean "sausage" and soy creamer. I also used rice penne to make it gluten-free. Even my meat-eating linebacker of a husband wanted seconds, and wants me to make this dish again. Some notes: making it vegan, I think, may have taken care of the dryness that some mention. Gimme Lean is inherently moist. In addition, you should definitely take the time to dice the squash. Mine turned out to be a lovely dish with the butternut neatly spread throughout in cubes. This dish is a winner; if you find yourself adapting recipes for your dietary needs, add this to your collection. I think adaptations improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States