Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I thought this was very good. Having chunks of squash seems odd, but it works. Make sure you don't overcook the squash or it will be too mushy. You want it to have a bite to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
followed recipe except I used mild italian sausage (not a fan of turkey) and used skim milk and cornstarch instead of heavy cream. Also only used 2 tblsp instead of 3.5 of balsamic - seemed a lot. husband, who usually eats any recipe I try, wouldn't eat it. WAY to sweet. i love balsamic and sage, but i didn't finish my serving, either. Just not good at all. don't know what would improve it except maybe skipping balsamic all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is a tasty recipe. I left out the turkey though (I try to cook vegetarian). The first time I made it I felt like the balsamic vinegar overwhelmed the flavor of the butternut squash, so I left it out the second time. Tastes great either way, just depends on whether you want a strong balsamic vinegar taste or not. My only complaint is that peeling butternut squashes is so hard! I felt like I was going to slice my fingers off! There must be an easier way to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We have made this several times and enjoy it, especially using pre cut squash. This time we creamed the roasted squash and onions. Better if you have people who would otherwise pick out the squash(me). We also always use evaporated milk instead of cream because of price and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
great flavor! Used regular egg noodles b/c I didn't have penne on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Great! The only modification I made was to add a can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic. Not necessary, but a yummy and colorful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe, but since I was lacking turkey sausage and sage...I had to make modifications. I also borrowed some from another recipe. I roasted the squash on 375 for 40 minutes, and put 1/2 an onion in the last 20 minutes. Next time I try this recipe I'll do it for 30 minutes at 350, since the squash started to fall apart when I mixed it with the other ingredients. I used 1/4 c. of half and half and next time will use more, because I like having more sauce :) I added parsley and parmesan cheese at the end! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this with spaghetti squash instead of pasta so it turned out very moist. I found that cooking the vegetables just to al dente made for a better texture and fresh taste. I forgot the balsamic at the end, but it was still good with some Parmesan added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Soooo good on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is my first review, this dish was really good despite the low number of reviews which is why I wanted to add my own. I added a bell pepper to it and roasted my garlic cloves with the squash and onions. It was very good overall. My only complaint would probably be not enough left over sauce...my pasta probably sucked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States