Pasta with Roasted Butternut Squash and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Loved it. Did not use the vinegar. And I cooked pasta in chicken broth. Husband can not have milk so used Rice milk. Also he cooked onions and garlic in with the sausage. After the sausage was done he sauteed the squash in with the sausage for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much "as is" - only used chicken sausage (Italian style) becuase I couldn't find turkey sausage. I also saved about a cup of the pasta water because some other reviews said it might come out dry. I wound up using about 1/3 cup of the pasta water. This was so fantastic! I am making it again this week. It was a wonderful fall flavored dish and the balsamic (which I was initially worried about adding) is very necessary to wake up all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by speedscate1
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
So I modified this recipe to my own tastes by using capellini instead of penne pasta. I also roasted the onions and squash with 1 clove of minced garlic and some butter, plus some cinnamon and a pinch or two of basil. I also used 2 baked chicken breasts in olive oil and basil instead of the sausage. it turned out exceptionally well. I see a lot of reviews saying it was bland but the extra basil and the cinnamon on the squash I think really helped, I might even add some rosemary next time. The Balsamic also complemented the sweet flavor of my squash very well. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
OMG, this is so good. I made a couple of changes. I didn't have any cream, so I used a little bit of almond milk and a bit of pasta water. I used Italian sausage because that's what I had. I am not crazy about sage, so I left it out. I added a handful of halved cherry tomatoes, some parmesan cheese and only 1 Tbsp of Basalmic because more than that just sounded like too much to me. My husband said it was only a "7" (out of 10), but he ate seconds. My son and I loved it. Even better the second day. I know I made a few changes, but this is a great one that I will be repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made some alterations to this recipe, but it was awesome! We had a blizzard in New England last night and I was happy inside having this dish! Here's what I did... *I had already baked my squash. I like doing that because it keeps is flavor nicely. *I also didn't want to use the slow-cook method. * I exchanged fresh sage for powdered. * I used a LOT less butter. * no cheese. It was rich and delicious, so why add the fat? Basically, I started with a big pot. I sautéed the shallots and mushrooms in a little butter until wilty I then added barley and stirred for about 5 minutes. I added the wine and stirred/cooked until it was absorbed. I added everything else except for the squash and parsley. I put the cover on and turned down the heat a little. I stirred occassionally. When the barley was fully cooked and the broth was absorbed, I scooped in the semi-mashed squash. I put parsley on top. It was amazing! Thanks for posting this. It was a perfect guide to just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The flavors of this dish were outstanding.Sage,garlic,onion,butternut squash with sausage just compliment each other so well.I used whole wheat spiral noodles to avoid mushiness.I used italian turkey sausage links cutting them.Fat free creamer and a bit of skim milk.I don't feel one onion is enough and used more.I sauted the garlic to bring the taste forward.No balsamic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
My husband and I watch our carbs, so I eliminated the pasta in this dish. I tossed the butternut squash in olive oil, salt, pepper, italian seasoning and a bit of chili pepper. I sauteed the onion and garlic and added it to the butternut squash and baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes; while that was baking, I browned some tuscan ground sausage (I found in the deli dept. at the market), drained the sausage and added some chicken stock with a little flour to thicken it; I then added a couple tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. After 30 minutes, I added the sausage to the butternut squash and baked it for 10 minutes; I added parmesan cheese to the top and baked for 5 more minutes. I served this with steamed brocolli. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett Kessling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious! I made it with chicken/apple sausage which was a tad too sweet. Would have been tastier with a spicier sausage. My daughter was hesitant about eating it.'Do you have to put squash in it mom?' But ended up loving it and going back for seconds. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is an AWESOME recipe! A MUST try! It was a huge hit at our get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Followed almost exactly as written (substituted Lactaid Milk for heavy creme - for obvious reasons) and was AMAZINGLY surprised. My husband picked this out and when he told me he found a recipe that used butternut squash, sausage and vinegar I was very sceptical - so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States