Pasta with Peas and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious, easy and cheap!! I made it just as above and it was a perfect family dinner with leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISON20
Home Town: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I made this yesterday and it was very yummy and simple!! My husband loved it. A couple changes I made was I used ground mild italian sausage, I also used 2 cups of heavy cream instead of 1 1/2 cups. 1 tbl of olive oil instead of 2. This is something I will for sure make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
For being such a quick and easy meal to make, this was fantastic! I followed the recipe except I probably used fewer peas than it called for. I would probably still make a few changes now that I've made it. I think instead of cooking the garlic in oil I will cook it in the sausage grease after the sausage has started. I had to drain my sausage before adding the cream last time and I still might have to this way, but I'll give it a try. Also, I'll cook the entire package of sausage-which is about 1 1/4 lbs. My husband ate some of the leftovers today and he said it tasted even better than the night before. I just really enjoyed how tasty this was and how quick it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent...made just as stated. Once you put the sauce over the pasta, it soaks right in and gives a wonderful flavor. I do not even like peas but I liked this. We used petite peas. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe but I made a few changes. For pasta, I used a tri-color pasta. I mixed mild and spicy italian sausage and added sun-dried tomatoes. It was one of the best I've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a delicious recipe! And so easy!! I see many people have used different pasta shapes than rigatoni and thats quite fine. However, with this type of sauce (thick and chunky) you really want to avoid the thin noodle type pastas (like spaghetti or fettucini) as these pasta shapes are typically used with much thinner or just creamy sauces like your basic tomato or alfredo sauce. The chunky sauces like this one is work MUCH better with larger shaped pasta that have holes or nooks and crannies in them to "trap" the chunky sauce in. Perfect examples are fusilli, cavatelli, penne, bow ties, shells, rotini, or even elbow macaroni. Point is, the sauce gets trapped in these large holes so you get a taste of all the ingredients in every bite. If you use spaghetti or fettucini noodles, the cunky sauce just slides right off the pasta and you're left with a big pile of sauce at the end that you have to eat with no pasta. Hope this helps everyone out in finding the perfect pasta shape for your meal! Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Delicious! Didn't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The cream makes it way too heavy. I substituted 2 cups chicken broth. Much lighter and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love this recipe! It was delicious and enjoyed by my husb. and 3 yo daughter. I modified it to cut back fat/calories as follows: swapped sweet Italian turkey sausage for the reg. sausage; used half & half (maybe 3/4 cup) instead of heavy cream, I did use butter, but only 3 tblsp, and used some of the reserve from the pasta water (about 3/4 cup) to make up for the rest of the cream. I also added the parmesan to the entire mix while it was still cooking (toward the end) to thicken the mixture. Oh, and while the sausage browned, I added minced onion (dry) and a couple small shakes of crushed red pepper, dried basil and oregano, and a little garlic salt to taste. Even with the turkey sausage it was very delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States