Pasta with Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was delicious. Because I like my pasta saucy, I pureed about half the veggies, making a thick sauce, and chopped the other half. A little extra salt, pepper and parm on top and yumm! It's rich and unique, I never would have thought of it myself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
A great recipe! You dont need a food processor. I just chopped everything finely. Parmesan cheese adds more flavour rather than dumping salt into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I felt the sauce was a very creative base or foundation to which to add, making it quite versatile. If it would have called for more seasonings I would have given it a 4. I chose to add fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, a pinch of paprika and a pinch of dry mustard. It was quite tasty. Next time I would saute the veggies with evoo before putting them in the food processor for more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This dish is terribly short on visual appeal, and that's a shame, since we first feast with our eyes. There is just no other way to describe this sauce other than it was a sort of chunky, odd-colored, creamy mush, definitely not something I wanted to photograph. But boy, oh boy, did this TASTE good! Hubs and I both loved it and believe it or not, weird combination as it is, he actually requested that I pack the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow along with his rotisserie chicken sandwich! We just loved the rich, earthy flavor of this, tho' that was helped along with a specialty porcini mushrom orzo blend rather than farfalle. I found the flour to be totally unnecessary and didn't use it. In fact, I even found I wanted to add a little more half-and-half just before serving. Creative idea, tasty and compatible ingredients, and simply delicious, even tho' you'd never expect it from the looks of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I grated the zucchini and sliced the onions and mushrooms and added red bell pepper. 2% milk with an added tblsp of butter made this plenty creamy for me. Thyme, salt, and black pepper and a garnish of chives made for a very tasty pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
A good basic sauce. Could be tweaked a little to give it more "kick" (red pepper?). I pureed all the zucchini and my squash-hating teenager never even knew it was in there; she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Good recipe. I had alot more sauce than I wanted on the noodles so I just froze the remainder and used it later for a quick dinner. I also added a half cup of chicken broth to the garlic and vegetables while they were cooking- that added good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I give this a 3, but it has more potential! 10 zucchini is a ton- I used 2 large zucchini and 2 small yellow zucchini instead and it was overflowing in my large skillet. I love chunky veggies, but I chopped everything very fine for this. I would suggest to puree the veggies. But flavor was definitely there, just needs some tweaking! I added garlic salt, pepper, parmesan and served with fresh tomatoes. (That really helped to compliment the mushroom flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I added onion and carmelized it first, yellow pepper and parmesan cheese. Need the pepper and cheese to make it more tasty and not as bland. I also used cremini and button mushrooms and only 4 zucchinis. Not bad for a vegetarian dish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
One of my husbands all time favorites. I slice all of the veges instead of chopping them in the food processor, this makes them more noticable. I only use 1 zuccini and usually try to put in a couple types of mushrooms totaling 1 lb or so (crimini and shitake are both excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States