Pasta with Mushroom and Zucchini Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This sauce was okay. It was definatly different. I accidently pureed the veggies, which actually turned out to be quite a nice sauce once I added the cream. It made way to much. Maybe zucchinis are bigger where I'm from, but 10 is alot. I only used 4 and it still made a huge pot full. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong, but I found this very bland. Granted, I don't have a food processor and tried to use my blender, but I don't think that would have made much difference. I probably will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I was a bit hesitant while I was cooking this...it didn't seem like it would make a good sauce. But it actually turned out quite well. I added quite a bit more garlic and pepper, and I used skim milk instead of the cream. It is a very thick, chunky sauce...so make sure you use a pasta that will hold onto the sauce, like the bow ties or shells. When I'm craving creamy pasta without the fat, I'll go for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I made a few changes to this recipe but my results were delish! I only used 2 zucchinis. I sliced my mushrooms and zucchines into thin slices as opposed to food processoring them. I did not use an onion or garlic, just added 1/4 tsp of onion and garlic powder to my butter while it melted. I added 1/2 cup of freshly grater parm. cheese to the sauce during the last few minutes of cooking. I also added quite a bit of salt -- probably 1 teaspoon + all together, but it needed it and was not salty at all when finished. I used rigatoni pasta (I had it on hand) and it was soooo wonderful! It's one of my new favorite base recipes for a creamy sauce, you can really add any veggie you want, I think it would be wonderful with a few different types of mushrooms and no zucchini for a creamy mushroom pasta. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
A great recipe! You dont need a food processor. I just chopped everything finely. Parmesan cheese adds more flavour rather than dumping salt into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I really wasn't impressed with this. It tasted bland and my boyfriend didn't care for it. It doesnt taste very well the next day either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Wonderful! I chopped the veggies instead of putting them in the food processor (afraid I'd have veggie soup instead), and we ate them with homeade orrechiette. My husband isn't much for vegetarian dinners but his plate was so clean it could have skipped the dishwasher :) I made it 2 nights in a row and it's now a #1 meal in my weekly menu. thanks helena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
One of my husbands all time favorites. I slice all of the veges instead of chopping them in the food processor, this makes them more noticable. I only use 1 zuccini and usually try to put in a couple types of mushrooms totaling 1 lb or so (crimini and shitake are both excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My husband and I both thought this recipe was delicious. Because I like my pasta saucy, I pureed about half the veggies, making a thick sauce, and chopped the other half. A little extra salt, pepper and parm on top and yumm! It's rich and unique, I never would have thought of it myself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I added onion and carmelized it first, yellow pepper and parmesan cheese. Need the pepper and cheese to make it more tasty and not as bland. I also used cremini and button mushrooms and only 4 zucchinis. Not bad for a vegetarian dish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States