Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love Kielbasa and Sauerkraut but I wanted something different. I thought I'd try this recipe since it's close but not exactly like a recipe I love. I did not like this at all. There was way too much pasta and not nearly enough sauce. A quick fix with some of the ingredients I normally use saved the dish from being tossed. I added about a cup of sour cream with a little milk to thin it, poured it into a casserole and topped it with some shredded cheddar cheese. Turned a rather dry and bland dish into a pierogie casserole which was promptly polished off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
had no idea what to cook one night, looked in the fridge and all i saw was kielbasa and sauerkraut, wanted to make it a little different, so i did a search and found this recipe. I'm on the south beach so I skipped the pasta, but was a HUGE hit anyway! The Dijon mustard is a tasty touch! Highly reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I'm not a big fan of sauerkraut but I decided to make this for the better half. I loved it! The combonation of pasta and kielbasa tone down the kraut which can overwhelm some recipes. I think next time I'll add more parsley and perhaps more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I have made this several times now, the recipe is versatile and lends itself well to additional ingredients as well as increasing proportions. I have added shredded carrots, other veggies, hot sauces, mayo, BBQ sauce, substituted potatoes for pasta, and all 4 teenagers love it every time (and they 'hate' saurkraut!)A definite favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Yummy, but a bit much pasta & not enough sausage & sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Excellent! One of my all-time favorites and I think it appeals more to German tastes, maybe that's why some didn't think it was a good combination. I thought it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I followed the recipe precisely and honestly, I thought this was barely edible. The combination of pasta, kielbasa, and sauerkraut just doesn't blend well. My husband on the other hand thought it was pretty good. We both agreed that it looked horrible, more like something you'd feed a dog than a person. On the positive side, it held up well as left overs (if you can stand to eat it again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I was excited to try this after reading the great reviews. It is good not great. I probably won't make it again. I like kielbasa with sauerkraut and potatoes a LOT better and it is so much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This recipe has become one of my regulars. I love the combination of ingredients. Even though they sound a little unusual they really work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Shasta McNasty !!!!! I DID NOT CARE FOR THIS AT ALL i followed the recipe to a "T" and it tasted like puppy chow !!!!!!!!!BEWARE!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States