Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
We liked this very much. I did change a few things. I don't like bell peppers, so I did not use any at all. I cut and cooked the Kielbasa first, browned it in the skillet with the olive oil and then removed to set aside. I then added the onion and garlic, cooked and then added some beer (used instead of wine) to de-glaze the pan. I then added to Sauerkraut, parsley, mustard (used Boarshead Deli Mustard, has a nice kick) and ceyenne. Mixed well and added more beer. I ended using one 12oz bottle. mixed everything and then added the Kielbasa. Instead of pasta I used sliced, red potaotes (pre-cooked until tender). I added them at the end, to heat through. Browning the meat first and de-glazing the pan gave a nice golden color and an added flavor. Very easy, flavorful recipe that will be served again. I am going to try this with pork chops, instead of Kielbasa and bake it covered. I think it will be another hit with my husband. Thank you for this recipe....very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I think the recipe was very good. I did change some things. I added more chicken broth which gave a better flavor. Next time I make I am going to add either ham or chicken instead and see how that goes. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great idea...I omitted the bell pepper because I dislike them and added a little crushed red pepper. I loved it but hubby wasn't crazy over it. Will make again from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Good recipe. I used 1/2 lb beef kielbasa and 1/2 lb chipotle seasoned kielbasa. As suggsted by others I added 1 cup of sour cream and 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese before combining with the pasta. Made for a nice creamy sause. I'm not big on sauerkraut but I really liked it in this. I also cut back a little on the amount of pasta...should have cut it by at least a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccountry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I used smoked sausage instead of the kielbasa because that's what I had on hand and I left out the peppers because I don't like them and used Penne Rigato Pasta again because that's what I had on hand. Very easy to make and didnt lack in flavor. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was delicious! I didn't have kielbasa but I did have bratwurst sausage. Since the brats were raw, I cooked them for about 5 minutes before adding the onions and bellpeppers. Otherwise, I followed the recipe faithfully and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
As strange as the varied ingredients may sound, it was a pretty good tasting dish. The olive oil makes the pasta "just right" and not too dry. We liked it well enough to probably make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My husband and I really like this recipe and will more than likely make it again. I did use more white wine (3/4 c. instead of 1/4 c.) and I do agree that it could use more sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a fantatist recipe. My family has been eating this for about a year now. I have a son who can't eat wheat so I divide the recipe to accomodate the allergy. It is a good alternative to perogies and saurkraught and sausage which is what we had eaten previously. It also works well with spaghetti squash for the low carb version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a very good recipe. My friends and I enjoyed it. For the record - Kielbasa is Polish - not German.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc.chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Barilla® Gluten Free Pasta Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States