Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Sounded weird but tastes Outstanding! My alterations as follows: 6 oz. ziti, 2 tblsp. oil, whole red pepper, 1 lb. turkey smoked kielbasa, 8 oz. sauerkraut (changes were based on other reviews and our personal tastes). All new recipes should be this good. When my husband likes a pasta dish, you know something is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is one of my new favorite recipes. The only thing the needs changing is the pasta to sausage ratio. If you make it with the suggested pasta amount you need to double the kielbasa. I also like to fry the noodles until they get a little crispy. Great dish. Now if I could only get my kids to like sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Surprisingly kid-friendly! My 3-year old son LOVES this dish. I have made it twice since discovering it two weeks ago and he cleaned his plate both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this to use up some sauerkraut that had been in the fridge for a while and my husband liked it pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe -- DELICIOUS --and I don't even like kielbasa or sauerkraut all that much! But the flavors meld beautifully and each is enhanced by the other. I used the small ziti and only about 2/3 of the amount suggested. I also cooked the pasta ahead, so it was even easier to prepare at my busy mealtime. I omitted the cayenne and didn't miss it a bit. If you like Italian cheese, you might like to sprinkle a bit on top. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Good, not great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was so easy to make and quick! My husband loved it too!! I added leftover Easter ham. Topped it off at end with 3 slices of provolone cheese, once it melted, it was ready to serve. Didn't have the pepper but it's just fine without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
i would use half the sauerkraut. but other than that it was easy and tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I can't believe it but this was actually really good! I was very weary but was pleased as was my husband! Very fast to make as well! I followed the directions as written without changing anything and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Valley, California, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this meal last night after reading many of the reviews. My husband - who wasn't too sure about it beforehand - really enjoyed it with the changes I made to the original recipe: I only used 8 oz (1/2 box) penne pasta 1/2 cup dark German beer to deglaze pan AND 1 cup chicken broth to make enough sauce to coat everything 2 Tbsp creamy onion dip to thicken and make sauce creamy when adding mustard and cayenne pepper I also browned the turkey kielbasa first, then removed it to a paper towel-lined plate while I cooked the onions and red bell pepper. I added it back to the pan after I'd made the sauce and cooked up the sauerkraut a bit. I also sprinkled some Parmesan cheese over the top right before serving, and even my very picky kids liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States