Pasta with Italian Sausage and Pumpkin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I partially grilled chicken sausage, sliced and finished cooking with the onions. I used one whole onion and fat free half/half. I added some cream cheese, red pepper flakes, and spinach. My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Wonderful flavor, really enjoyed this as written. Would give 4.5 stars really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great recipe. A+ for versatility. I really wanted to make it tonight and had to make some substitutions. I made it with steamed hubbard squash as I didn't have canned pumpkin handy. I used the food processor to puree the squash along with a 1/8 cup of apple cider. Also, I used Italian(hot) chicken sausage as a substitute for the pork sausage. The sauce was creamy and delicious. I like to use an Argentine Parmesan for the grated cheese. Does a nice job of blending with sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was yummy, but I have to mention I didn't follow the recipe as written: I used fresh, steamed pumpkin (not canned): I forgot the garlic (instead sprinkled garlic powder in); I added maybe an extra 1/4 c. half-and-half to make it a bit creamier. Still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
YUMMY!!! VERY rich, though! A little dry, could use a bit more juice or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langeloro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
A very good and delicious twist to pasta. We played ‘guess the ingredient’ and my family never did guess the pumpkin in the sauce. I made the recipe as written, tried it on some pasta, and then added 2 ingredients. It was fine as written; I just knew my family would like a little spice. I added some red pepper flakes (1 T.) for a little zip and some fresh spinach for added veggies. I will make this again, although I will be using spicy Italian sausage, next time. We liked the addition of spinach, so I would use that again. My pasta was medium shells as that is what I had on hand. Thanks jmcnutt28 for this recipe, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
What a great dish. I made this for lunch today and my family loved it. I served it with a Cesar salad, the artichoke Parmesan French bread and for desert I made the coconut flan! All from this site everyone just enjoyed it. Will definitely make this again. Thank you again for sharing a great dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I'm giving this a 4, but I made a few small changes that could have adversely affected it. I used 1 cup of sour cream and left out the half-and-half. I also used sweet Italian turkey sausage instead of regular Italian sausage, hoping to appeal to my toddler. I added spinach leaves just before serving, which really brightened it up, and I also used about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I will make it again, next time using the half-and-half and the regular Italian sausage, and expect it will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This tasted great. I boiled the onions with the broth, doubled the sour cream, and left the half-and-half out. I also used 1.5 cups shredded Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. I used evaporated milk instead of the half and half, and fresh pumpkin instead of canned. We'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States