Pasta with Hot Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, and my husband said it was the best sauce he'd ever had. Thanks sooooooooo much! I love to see that gleam in his eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is excellent sauce. I made as directed, except for increasing the sausage by 1/3 and using half bulk and half sliced link for texture - and I used penne pasta because that's what I had. I would really recommend NOT omitting the capers or the wine - they are what makes this sauce special. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was very good. It's not too spicy but just enough to give it really good flavor. My husband really liked it. I added some fresh basil and I wasn't sure what the recipe meant when it said "whole peeled potatoes, mashed, liquid reserved". I smashed the tomatoes with the liquid and added it to the sauce. You can also use a penne pasta with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Pretty easy and got good reviews from my DH. Too spicy for my two year old. I didn't have capers so omitted them. I also did not use spicy sausage but a milder one. Did not serve with ziti - but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Muy delicioso.. this recipe is knockout..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is a wonderfully easy, delicious recipe! I followed it pretty closely, except I used turkey sausage to reduce fat and I left out the capers, because I didn't have any. I drained the whole tomatoes and then mashed them before adding to the sausage. I reduced the pepper(s) to 1/8 tsp. each because my husband is not a fan of spicy food, but the wine & spices still added plenty of flavor. I let it simmer for about an hour and it made a thick, rich sauce. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and flavorful. I did use mild Italian sausage because of my kids. My 10 year old Daughter thought it was spicey but liked it. I left out the capers. Didn't have them and didn't want to buy them. Next time I will try it with turkey italian sausage and whole wheat pasta. I did use the ziti. Very good! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
YUMMMMMM!!! Husband and kids couldn't stop raving or eating! (And let me add that spaghetti is NOT on the list of favorite meals in our house!) I made a few minor revisions based on ingredients I had on hand-- eliminated red wine and capers, used petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added a small can of tomato paste and a tad of sugar, used half hot sausage and half sweet. DELICIOUS!!!! This is the sauce we've been looking for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was delicious - I'm not a fan of capers and don't keep them around so I left those out, I don't think it mattered. It was also easy and tasted so much better then opening a jar of sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Thanks for the great idea. This was really good. Versatile basic sauce, I didn't have capers so I left them out, it was still delicious. Did not need a jar of sauce, the other ingredients were enough. Also, a good sauce even without the sausage as a vegetarian option. I will try to never use sauce from the jar again. It is so much better this way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States