Pasta with Hot Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I liked this, but it gets five stars because my 16 month-old son LOVED it. He ate two portions at dinner and then ate the leftovers for lunch for two days in a row, cleaning his plate every time. I know he'd like to see this one in the permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I very rarely give anything 5 stars, but this dish was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as written, although the whole tomatoes I used already had basil in them. It is a spicy recipe, but that was fine for us; we love it spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is one of the best pasta sauce recipes I've ever found. I did substitute two 25 oz. jars of a good quality tomato basil spaghetti sauce for the whole peeled tomatoes, crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce because I had them on hand. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I loved the addition of the red wine and capers and thought they really enhanced the flavor of the sauce. I would definitely recommend this recipe to those who want a spicy, flavorful sauce that tastes homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Excellent! Very good flavor. I used sweet red wine and it was amazing and the left over portion in the bottle went very well with pasta. I used sweet sausage instead because I'm not a spice fan and gave it just the right amount of heat. Surprisingly easy to make. Loved it. One of my favorites from now on. An impressive main course for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this recipe just as it appears on the site - no changes. After 45 minutes it was still a bit watery so I simmered very slowly for another 30 minutes. Great sauce! Nice flavor and spice. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Thanks 'Italian Man' this was very good. I needed to use the hot sausage I bought the other day and found your recipe. It was delicious, spicy and easy. A very ecomical way to feed a family! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This sauce is excellent. I've tried many homemade versions of sugo and this is great. So easy to make. Why would anyone buy bottled sauce? This is inexpensive to make. Nice and thick, rich tomato taste, fresh ingredients. My husband loved it as well as I. Will make it again. If anyone wanted to substitute the meat, they could as the rich sauce carries any flavor well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Had no capers, wine, tomato sauce but substituted green olives and tomato paste.. just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great pasta dish that everyone enjoys. Excellent taste. Only change I did was no capers. Did not miss the one ingredient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
DECIDED TO TRY THIS RECIPE SINCE I HAD LEFTOVER SPICY SAUSAGE. I ADDED EVERYTHING BUT THE WINE AND CAPERS (DID NOT HAVE THEM ON HAND), I AM SURE THIS WILL ONLY MAKE THE RECIPE EVEN BETTER THE NEXT TIME. I JUST WANTED TO ADD THAT I USED STORE BRAND WHOLE AND CRUSHED TOMATOES AND FOR SOME REASON THERE WAS A LINGERING METAL CAN TASTE TO MY SAUCE- NEXT TIME I WILL USE A BETTER BRAND IN HOPES TO AVOID THIS PROBLEM. MY HUSBAND LOVED IT- THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States