Pasta with Hot Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was enjoyable but not outstanding. I did add a few mushrooms and a little chopped green pepper for a little extra texture and colour. I just thought this had far too much tomato for my test buds, did enjoy the hot taste. Not sure its a recipe I will be making again - Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I can't say enough about how good this recipe is. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. It's my go-to comfort pasta dish. If you don't have all that time to let it cook down, you can add a little tomato paste to thicken it up in 10 or 15 minutes. The flavor won't be quite as good as if you had let it simmer for longer, but it works in a pinch. I love it on penne rigate, but ziti is good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was pretty tasty and easy to prepare. My sauce was also a little watery but still good. My kids enjoyed it so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I did need to add a 6 oz can of tomato paste because my sauce seemed a bit runny and a pinch of sugar. I didn't have capers either but nonetheless very tasty!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have capers either, so just left those out. Hubby doesn't like the texture of chunky tomatos, so I put them all in the blender and pureed them. At first I thought it was going to be too runny, but after cooking it thickened up just perfectly. Other than that, I followed directions to the tee (although I don't measure spices). Hubby LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I have made this three times since I tried it in July. We just love it and I made it for different family members and shared with a neighbor. Everyone loved it. I did increase the sausage to 1 1/3 lbs as one reviewer suggested and it works. If you love Italian sausage and spicy food, this is a keeper. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a really nice flavorful easy recipe. I used italian turkey sausage instead of pork. Keep the capers and wine, it def. makes the recipe! I did shorten simmer time to 10 mins. by using spicy red pepper tomato sauce i had on hand. (I still added canned tomatoes, garlic, red onion etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was awesome. My husband was concerned that it smelled so strong initially but after simmering, he couldn't stop eating...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
VERY good. I used hot turkey sausage and served over regular spaghetti noodles. Kicked the wine up to about 3/4 cup and added about a tsp of fennel. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good sauce...a nice change of pace from typical ground beef sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States