Pasta with Gorgonzola and Sweet Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've made this rerecipe many times with just a splash of balsamic. When I saw the 2Tbsp here, I decided to try it. After tasting it, I looked at the recipe again. Surely I read it wrong. It must have said 2tsp.... No, Tablespoons it was. The balsamic ruined one of my all time favorite recipes. I'll stuck to my splash of balsamic in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Easy to make. It was good but it's very important to serve it hot. My mistake was putting it on the table before everyone was there. I'm going to give it a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is fabulous! I put grilled steak on top of it and it was out of sight! I used 2 1/2 pounds of top round steak, 3/4" thick (you could also use boneless beef sirloin). I cut the steak in 4" x 4" pieces (I was aiming for "medallions") and grilled it outside-- in the dead of winter! I doubled the sauce but kept the pasta (fettucini) at 1 pound. I added the cheese while the sauce was still in the pan so that it would melt. This served 7-8 people. I served it to company at a small dinner party and it was fun to grill outside in January (I'm in Philadelphia)! Some of my guests followed me outside while I grilled. A beautiful, wonderful dish served with a simple green salad (spinach and cherry tomatoes) and red wine. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This stuff is AWESOME! I made as is except halved the recipe as I only had a small hunk of gorgonzola to use. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is delicious! I was short an onion, so I added a little bit of agave nectar to make up the sweetness. I served it over tortellini with a sprinkle of parmesan and a lot of black pepper. Next time I'll try the arugula that was suggested earlier. That sounds lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I served to my in-laws who just returned from a 5 star trip to Italy. After their 9 day trip to the land of Pasta, they loved it!! Changes? Only added Asparagus to the sauce & cooked until tender crisp. That added a nice touch of green - which otherwise is way to brown looking for the initial eye candy. Enjoy this sauce - easy, can make ahead, and tasty (one would think too tangy, but not so!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
It was good. I used red pepper flake olive oil, that gave it a tiny bit of heat. Maybe will use more cheese next time - and a different balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Fantastic! I have now made this twice, and although I think it is delicious as is, I think it is AMAZING with a couple changes - one rather weird-sounding. First - actually caramelize the onions. You cannot caramelize onions in only 10 minutes - sauteed onions are different from caramelized onions. This recipe really benefits from truly caramelized onions, which need to be cooked more slowly over a relatively low heat. Caramelized onions becomes wonderfully sweet - it's sort of amazing that you can get such a flavor from a regular onion (and I did use regular yellow onions.) The sweetness off-sets the gorgonzola cheese, and I think that many people who did not like the recipe might like it if they truly caramelized the onions. Also - the second time I made this, I added a lot of sea salt to the cooking onions, and then took a page from a pork chop recipe I think I invented - I mixed a LOT of balsamic vinegar (much more than called for), apple juice, and a bit more sea salt with the cooked onions, and let it reduce while still over heat. This is quite a departure from the recipe, but it added a wonderful sweet-savory flavor which went well with the cheese. It does not end up tasting like apple juice at all, and it also adds a bit more liquid. I also mixed the pasta/sauce with the cheese very well while it was still warm, so the cheese melted completely, forming just a creamy coating, and added chopped almonds for crunch and a subtle flavor. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I thought I would love this recipe because I love all of the ingredients on their own. But after making it, it seems to me to be a huge waste of Gorgonzola. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was excellelnt! My husband said I had outdone myself! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Tuscan Pasta

This delicious, easy pasta dish with zesty herbs is bursting with flavor.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States