Pasta with Chicken Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Thsi first time I made this i followed the recipe, however it turned out a little tasetless. The next time while cooking the chicken i added some balsamic vinegar. I added italian spices and crushed red pepper to the sauce which made it much more flavourful. Oh and to make it low fat I used milk instead of cream and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Great flavor! I did season the chicken before sauteing -- and I substituted portobella mushroom slices for the shitake. Next time I will use more mushrooms and more sauce. It needed a little more of both. Both my husband and son said this was a definite "thumbs up". This would also be good with a little broccoli tossed in ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
thought this was a great recipe. i added garlic and more coarse black pepper. the shiitake and onions flavored the sauce nicely, served it with crusty garlic bread. would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marishah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
My husband loved this recipe as much as I did. I found it at the last minute because I wanted to use the portabello mushrooms in my fridge. It was quick and I am happy to have found it. The only adjustment I made was to double the mushroom sauce. We like our pasta very wet and figured if there were leftovers some would absorb into the pasta. I added grated pecorino romano cheese. It was perfect. Yummm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I served this with Isaiah's Pretzel Fried Chicken so I didn't add the chicken to the dish. I didn't have shiitakes but I did have baby bellas. (Costco sells huge packages for about five dollars.) Because mushrooms soak up butter when you saute with it, I did add a couple more tbsp. When I plated it, I sprinkled some fresh grated parmesan over the top of each serving. The flavor of the pasta, the cream, onions and mushrooms was a winning combination. We ate every little bit. I'm SO making this again. My husband calls this "Snooty Mac and Cheese". I can only imagine what it would be with the chicken. NOTE: If you plan on making this with the chicken, you might want to make a recipe and a half of the sauce. Without adding the chicken to mine, the sauce was just enough. I'd also add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Simple, straight-forward recipe -- it's great for when you don't want to fuss with dinner too much! I sliced my mushrooms and doubled the amount (we like a lot of mushrooms), and added assorted additional seasonings to spice things up a bit, since the one danger with this recipe is the potential of being a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loved this. Very easy. Used half and half and increased it by 1/2 cup. Also added 3 cloves garlic and a little flour to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is quite creamy and also quite flavourful. I intentionally over cooked the onion to get a bit of a charred sweetness, and I added the mushrooms early to sautee them a bit. I also added half a clove of minced garlic to the sauteed onions for added flavour. Mistakenly, I used 10% cream as opposed to heavy cream, but added flour to help with the thickening. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
i had this dish when i was in a resturant in atlanta, ga. it was this great italian resturant. this recipe tasted just as good. i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was really good. My husband loved it. I used a light table cream instead of the heavy cream and just added a little flour to thicken it up. I also simmered the chicken in the sauce for a half hour or so. I doubled the mushrooms and added extra pepper and salt. Easy and simple... would make this for guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States