Pasta with Chicken Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was so blah and I spent so much time trying to make this edible. As written, it is nothing. I added garlic, rosemary, thyme, generous amounts of salt and pepper, chicken broth, more heavy cream, parmesan cheese, nutmeg, a tub of Aloette. You get the picture. By the time, it was all said and done, we had dinner but it was nothing like the original recipe. Used button mushrooms instead of shitake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I make this recipe vegetarian, omitting the chicken and doubling the mushrooms. Using sugar-free soy milk instead of cream and adding 2 tsp vegetarian oyster sauce for extra flavour when sauteeing the mushrooms in the beginning. For picky eaters, I omit the onions completely, and instead of salt I use flavour enhancer (a pinch of MSG towards the end).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
thought this was a great recipe. i added garlic and more coarse black pepper. the shiitake and onions flavored the sauce nicely, served it with crusty garlic bread. would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marishah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Turned out all right, but seemed to be lacking in something. The addition of seasonings or more veggies might spruce it up a bit; the dish (even though I added some garlic salt to the sauce as well as seasoning the chicken while sauteeing) was just too plain on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I made this and it did not taste good. I did everything the directions said it was just not appealing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
EASY AND QUICK TO MAKE AND EVERYONE ENJOYED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
My husband loved this recipe as much as I did. I found it at the last minute because I wanted to use the portabello mushrooms in my fridge. It was quick and I am happy to have found it. The only adjustment I made was to double the mushroom sauce. We like our pasta very wet and figured if there were leftovers some would absorb into the pasta. I added grated pecorino romano cheese. It was perfect. Yummm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe! It's the first actual recipe I attempted, because normally I just throw whatever into my sauces. They always come out well, but I didn't know how to make just a regular cream sauce. In the last five minutes after you've put in the chicken, I add some freshly grated parmesan. It's so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxyLeigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Great flavor! I did season the chicken before sauteing -- and I substituted portobella mushroom slices for the shitake. Next time I will use more mushrooms and more sauce. It needed a little more of both. Both my husband and son said this was a definite "thumbs up". This would also be good with a little broccoli tossed in ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Simple, straight-forward recipe -- it's great for when you don't want to fuss with dinner too much! I sliced my mushrooms and doubled the amount (we like a lot of mushrooms), and added assorted additional seasonings to spice things up a bit, since the one danger with this recipe is the potential of being a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States