Pasta with Broccoli and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Tasty recipe...bacon gives the sauce a nice flavor, although next time I think I will use more bacon to bring out that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Really, really good! There's just two things I would do differently next time: 1) Add 2 more slices bacon 2) Don't brown the garlic until the onion is almost tender, as my garlic got a little overcooked as the grease was still so hot from the bacon. It was a nice fast meal and a good way to get my kids to eat some broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Delicious! So good I made it first with a red sauce (Ragu chunky mushroom) and then with a white sauce (Ragu alfredo). I took the advice of another All Recipes user and sauteed the onion and garlic in a *small* amount of the bacon grease, then added the bacon and the sauce once the onions were soft. A couple of tips -- (1) Cut the amount of pasta down; only use 8-10 ounces of pasta instead of the 16 ounces called for in an 8-serving recipe. 1 jar of sauce can only cover 8-10 ounces of pasta reasonably. (2) Make certain the pasta is almost entirely cooked before adding the broccoli. I added my broccoli after 5 minutes as the recipe stated, only to have my pasta take an extra long time to cook and consequently my broccoli turned to mush. (3) Feel free to add other vegetables as desired. I added green peas and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I loved it - my family thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was very good. I used the stem parts of the broccoli along with the flowers. Diffently would make again. My husband said "where's the beef"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Great recipie! I love the combination of flavors. I think next time I will add a little more bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I have a 14 yr old daughter who hates it when I make anything new. But to my suprise she loved this recipe. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Really liked this. I used half fresh and half thawed frozen broccoli. Next time I will use a sauce brand that I have tried and liked instead of something new. The bacon adds an interesting texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is one of my all time favourite pasta dishes made however,with alfredo. I like to consider it the North American version of the Italian Carbonara. Though not the most healthy of suggestion, I recommend using accumulating bacon fat to sauté the garlic, omit onions to enhance a two ingredient recipe. Substitue fresh ground black pepper instead of parmesan which will add nothing to an alfred sauce. Also remember not to drain bacon fat down your sink's drain as it will solidify as it cools. Instead collect it in a dish and wait a few hours until it becomes gelatenous (jelly). I like to add a paper towel into mine when it's still liquid to disperse it and make it easier to wipe out of the container into the garbage after. (not sure if you can compost, hightly unlikely)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My husband never complains, but we both decided this was pretty blah. Maybe the alfredo version per other reviewers would be better. We won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States