Pasta with Blue Cheese and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I gave this 5 stars even though hubby didn't really care for it. I think you need to be a real lover of blue cheese to love it. I did make a few modifications. I mixed 1 tbs of flour with 1/4 cup of chicken broth, then added the remainder of the can to the garlic and walnuts. Then I stirred in the flour and broth and ooked until it made a nice sauce. I'm a sauce junkie. I used it over Ronzoni wheat pasta and the sauce really holds it's own even with the wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe, especially if you love blue cheese! Added some tomatoes and diced chicken to make it a little heartier and a little extra oil and cheese to compensate for the extra ingredients. Also substituted bowtie pasta for spaghetti so that the sauce would stick to the pasta better. Tried this sauce on ravioli as well and loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This is something I would expect to get at a fine restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
The recipe as written is really good, but if you want to make it excellent and really "wow" your dinner party, do this: up the garlic and add sun dried tomatoes and mushrooms. Once you toss it with the noodles and blue cheese, taste it and salt and pepper accordingly. It tastes amazing and has a real restaurant quality to it. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Mmmm... My buddy, Ennis, shared this recipe with me and it was awesome! He's pretty much full-blown granola, so I wasn't sure if I would like it. I used whole wheat pasta to make it extra wholesome. It definitely needed salt and pepper. Also, a pinch of nutmeg was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
More extra virgin olive oil is needed in this recipe for a smoother consistency. I used approximately 1/4 c. I also substituted the walnuts for soy nuts as they contain more protein. Puree the mixture, including the blue cheese, in a mini food processor until smooth and pastey. Rather than using this on top of spaghetti, I laid a thick layer in a soft burrito and placed scrambled eggs on top for an "egg burrito". It was absolutely delicious! The mixture may also be delicious on a toasted baguette or as a dip for vegetables. I believe there are many ways to enjoy this recipe - thank you Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I thought this recipe tasted great and it was quite easy to put together. After having it at a restaurant, I wanted to try and make it on my own. The bleu cheese gave the pasta just the right tang. I used stilton bleu cheese and it was GREAT! I also used an organic wheat pasta and this made it really tasty, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I added chopped chicken, a bell pepper and some extra blue cheese to comepnsate for the new ingredients. It gave the recipe some variety and people love it wherever I go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I thought this was excellent. So very simple. I had something sort of like this in a restaurant and said to myself I wish I could make this recipe at home. Thanks for helping me find new ways to serve pasta without all that meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Nice idea but a bit bland in taste... which surprised me considering the use of blue cheese in this recipe. Maybe I'll try it again but with 1 or 2 more cloves of garlic and a different type of pasta for better texture (perhaps farfalle/bowtie?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States